MLS Awards: Villa adds MVP award to trophy case

Commissioner Don Garber handled this one himself: the presentation in New York of the Landon Donovan MLS MVP award to striker David Villa.

Two days after his 35th birthday, the New York City FC star was honored as MVP by compiling a combined average of 25.9 percent in voting conducted among players, league executives and media members. He finished first or tied for first in all three categories. In his second MLS season, Villa scored 23 goals and also chipped in four assists.

“It means a lot,” he said after the presentation. “It’s the example I want to show to the people in America, in MLS, day by day. This award is a lot to me because the vote for this award is from everybody working in MLS, like the community of the players, like the community of the coaches, and the community of the journalists.

“To be a winner of all the voting when you see the MLS with the big players, means a lot to me. It’s one of the best days of my career.”

Red Bulls’ striker Bradley Wright-Phillips, who narrowly beat out Villa for the Golden Boot by scoring 24 goals, placed second with 19.3 percent of the vote. Wright-Phillips’ teammate, midfielder Sacha Kljestan, finished third with 17.6 percent.

Sebastian Giovinco, last year’s winner, was fourth at 16.3 percent.

Player (Team)
Player %
Team %
Media %
David Villa (NYCFC) 27.6 27.6 22.4 25.9
Bradley Wright-Phillips (NYRB) 18.4 17.1 22.4 19.3
Sacha Kljestan (NYRB) 19.7 14.5 18.7 17.6

At the ceremony a video was shown of messages from former teammates such as Gerard Pique and Xavi. He posed for pictures with friends and family who had gathered for the occasion, as had NYCFC head coach Patrick Vieira.

“David didn’t miss any training during the season,” said Vieira. “He’s always there, training hard, working hard, talking to players. When we’re talking about David, we’re talking about somebody who loves the game, somebody who is humble, somebody who is really positive and that’s why he’s so successful.”

Villa has scored 41 goals in his two MLS seasons to dispel any suspicions that age had seriously impaired his influence, and set an ideal example for younger players with his dedication and work habits.

“In a few years when I retire, I hope everyone remembers me as a great professional, a great friend, a great teammate,” he said.

Major League Soccer MVP winners
2016 -- David Villa (New York City)
2015 -- Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)
2014 -- Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy)
2013 -- Mike Magee (Chicago Fire)
2012 -- Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
2011 -- Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)
2010 -- David Ferreira (FC Dallas)
2009 -- Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy)
2008 -- Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew)
2007 -- Luciano Emilio (D.C. United)
2006 -- Cristian Gomez (D.C. United)
2005 -- Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
2004 -- Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
2003 -- Preki (Kansas City Wizards)
2002 -- Carlos Ruiz (LA Galaxy)
2001 -- Alex Pineda Chacon (Miami Fusion)
2000 -- Tony Meola (Kansas City Wizards)
1999 -- Jason Kreis (Dallas Burn)
1998 -- Marco Etcheverry (D.C. United)
1997 -- Preki (Kansas City Wizards)
1996 -- Carlos Valderrama (Tampa Bay Mutiny)

6 comments about "MLS Awards: Villa adds MVP award to trophy case".
  1. Gus Keri, December 7, 2016 at 8:28 a.m.

    It's always not helpful when two players from the same team excel. Just like in 2010 when Messi benefited from the split votes for Iniesta and Xavi (Spain won the world cup then), Villa benefited from the split votes for Bradley and Kljestan this year.

  2. Quarterback TD, December 7, 2016 at 9:22 a.m.

    This is why MLS is a joke and why I gave up my season pass for 2017.. never in NBA, NFL, NHL, MLB would an MVP be awarded to a player who at least doesn't make it to a finals or was responsible for pulling his team deep into post season.. I guess this MVP is all about press..

  3. :: SilverRey :: replied, December 7, 2016 at 11:58 a.m.

    You gave up your season pass because of what the media is saying?

  4. Quarterback TD, December 7, 2016 at 12:33 p.m.

    You are changing the topic of the report--I gave up my season pass for 2017 because the league is starting to be a joke and that boils down to club selection of players I think are terrible..The media is only reporting what the league is doing..

  5. Albert Harris, December 7, 2016 at 2:14 p.m.

    Ernie Banks won the MVP award in the National League back to back when the Cubs were a losing team. There have been others, but that one was the first one I remembered, and I don't feel like googling. If I were going to be outraged, it would be because Giovinco was a better choice for the award than any of the 3 finalists (no offense to any of them who had fine years, but he's just the outstanding player in the league). Pays to play in New York. LOL

  6. Quarterback TD, December 7, 2016 at 4:47 p.m.

    So did Michael Jordon, Bird and few others but they put up real numbers and got their teams deep into the post season..

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications