U.S. Soccer holds girls striker-keeper camp

U.S. Soccer is holding its first striker-goalkeeper camp for U-15, U-16 and U-17 girls national team players. The Dec. 14-17 camp in Carson, California, gathers 22 attackers and seven keepers born in 2000, 2001 and 2002 and is headed by Technical Director April Heinrichs, Development Coach and U-15 girls national team coach Mark Carr and U.S. women’s national team goalkeeper coach Graeme Abel.

Other staff at the camp: 2015 Women’s World Cup winners Heather O’Reilly and Lori Chalupny; 1995 U.S. World Cup player, Jen Lalor; former U.S. national team players Kacey White and Christie Welsh; and former U.S. goalkeepers Nicole Barnhart and Jill Loyden; Western New York Flash’s Makenzy Doniak; former U.S. U-20 keeper Val Henderson; former U-20 international Danesha Adams; and former WPS and the W-League veteran goalkeeper Katie Hultin.

“You develop world-class finishers over time and with lots of hours spent with the ball, but this event is about providing inspiration and guidance from some excellent role models so that these young players can return to their club environments and work on their own to hone their skills,” said Heinrichs. “The rationale for this kind of event is to emphasize the process of developing world class attacking players at all levels of our girls’ national team programs.”

U.S. 2016 Strikers and Goalkeepers Camp Roster
GOALKEEPERS (7): Angelina Anderson (Mustang SC, Danville, Calif.), Hensley Hancuff (Oklahoma FC; Edmond, Okla.), Ruthie Jones (Charlotte SA; Charlotte, N.C.), Mia Justus (PDA; North Brunswick, N.J.), Meagan McCelland (PDA; Kearny, N.J.), Kathryn Meyer (Real So Cal; Newbury Park, Calif.), Lindsey Romig (IMG Academy; Midloathian, Va.).
ATTACKERS (22): Jordan Canniff (Richmond United; California, Md.), Kayla Colbert (Arsenal FC; Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.), Talia DellaPeruta (Tophat SC; Cumming, Ga.), Maya Doms (Davis Legacy; Davis, Calif.), Kailyn Dudukovich (Cincinnati United; West Chester, Ohio), Mia Fishel (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Sunshine Fontes (Honolulu Bulls SC; Wahiawa, Hawaii), Lia Godfrey (Armada FC; Fleming Island, Fla.), Rachel Jones (Tophat 18; Lawrenceville, Ga.), Payton Linnehan (FC Stars of Mass; Douglas, Mass.), Samantha Meza (Dallas Kicks; Balch Springs, Texas), Jenna Nighswonger (Slammers FC; Huntington Beach, Calif.), Brianna Pinto (CASL; Durham, N.C.), Gabrielle Robinson (BRYC Elite Academy; Springfield, Va.), Trinity Rodman (So Cal Blues; Newport Beach, Calif.), Michaela Rosenbaum (Santa Rosa United; Rohnert Park, Calif.), Ashlynn Serepca (Carolina Rapids; Cornelius, N.C.), Sophie Smith (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Alexas Spannstra (Michigan Hawks; Brighton, Mich.), Kaylssa Van Zanten (Eclipse Select SC; Buffalo Grove, Ill.), Kate Wienser (Slammers FC; Monrovia, Calif.), Summer Yates (Pac NW; Pasco, Wash.).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications