USWNT: No strike -- January camp begins next week

There will be no U.S. women's national team's strike to start the year. Head coach Jill Ellisnamed 29 players to a 10-day camp that will begin Jan. 13 in Carson, California.

The women's union -- USWNTPA -- and U.S. Soccer continue to operate under the current collective bargaining agreement as negotiations on a new CBA continue. That agreement calls for a 60-day termination notice only after which a strike could be held. No such trigger has taken place. Only last week, the union fired its executive director Rich Nichols.

The squad includes Amy Rodriguez, a member of the 2015 Women's World Cup championship team who sat out 2016 as she gave birth to her second child. Also in camp will be Crystal Dunn and Alex Morgan, who both recently signed with European teams.

Four players who were on the 2016 Olympic team won't be in camp: Hope Solo (suspended), Whitney Engen (dropped), Meghan Klingenberg and Mallory Pugh (both injured). Six players are uncapped.

"The players have had a good break since our last games in November, and I know everyone is anxious to get back to work," said Ellis. "January camp has always been valuable to set the tone for the upcoming year and it will be good for the players to get back on the field."

Ellis said the camp will give her staff the chance to evaluate players for the team's first big test of 2017: the SheBelieves Cup against Germany (ranked No. 2 in the world), France (No. 3) and England (No. 5).

The U.S. Women's National Team and U.S. Soccer will continue to operate under the Collective Bargaining Agreement in its current form as negotiations continue into the new year.

U.S. Women's National Team Roster:
GOALKEEPERS (4): *Jane Campbell (Stanford Univ.), *Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)
DEFENDERS (7): Jaelene Hinkle (Western New York Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns)
MIDFIELDERS (11): Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), *Kristen Edmonds (Orlando Pride), *Christina Gibbons (Duke Univ.), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns), *Rose Lavelle (Univ. of Wisconsin), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns), Samantha Mewis (Western New York Flash), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign), *Taylor Smith (Western New York Flash)
FORWARDS (7): Crystal Dunn (Chelsea Ladies FC, ENG), Jessica McDonald (Western New York Flash), Alex Morgan (Lyon, FRA), Kealia Ohai (Houston Dash), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Lynn Williams (Western New York Flash).
*Uncapped players.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications