College: Harkes and Buchanan take Hermann Trophies

Ian Harkes of NCAA Division I men's runner-up Wake Forest and Canadian Kadeisha Buchanan of NCAA Division I men's runner-up received 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy as the NSCAA's National Players of the Year in NCAA Division I soccer.

Harkes captained the Demon Deacons to a berth in the Men's College Cup final against Stanford. He followed his father, John Harkes, who was the MAC Player of the Year winner in 1987.

Runners-up for the men’s award were FGCU junior Albert Ruiz and Maryland sophomore Gordon Wild.

Buchanan, who just signed with French champion Lyon, was a MAC Hermann Trophy finalist a year ago when she represented Canada at the 2015 Women's World Cup, where she was named the tournament's best young player. She is the fourth winner who played in a Women's World Cup after Kristine Lilly (1991), Mia Hamm (1992 and 1993) and Raquel Rodriguez (2015).

Runners-up for the 2016 women’s award were USC senior Morgan Andrews and Stanford junior Andi Sullivan.

Men's MAC Hermann Trophy Winners
2016 Ian Harkes, Wake Forest
2015 Jordan Morris, Stanford
2014 Leo Stolz, UCLA
2013 Patrick Mullins, Maryland
2012 Patrick Mullins, Maryland
2011 Andrew Wenger, Duke
2010 Darlington Nagbe, Akron
2009 Teal Bunbury, Akron
2008 Marcus Tracy, Wake Forest
2007 O'Brian White, UConn
2006 Joseph Lapira, Notre Dame
2005 Jason Garey, Maryland
2004 Danny O'Rourke, Indiana
2003 Chris Wingert, St. John's
2002 Alecko Eskandarian, Virginia
*# 2001 Luchi Gonzalez, SMU
# 2000 Chris Gbandi, UConn
* 2000 Ali Curtis, Duke
# 1999 Ali Curtis, Duke
* 1999 Sasha Victorine, UCLA
# 1998 Wojtek Krakowiak, Clemson
* 1998 Jay Heaps, Duke            
*# 1997 Johnny Torres, Creighton               
*# 1996 Mike Fisher, Virginia 
# 1995 Mike Fisher, Virginia
* 1995 Matt McKeon, St. Louis  
# 1994 Brian Maisonneuve, Indiana
* 1994 Todd Yeagley, Indiana            
*# 1993 Claudio Reyna, Virginia                    
# 1992 Brad Friedel, UCLA
* 1992 Claudio Reyna, Virginia 
*# 1991 Alexi Lalas, Rutgers   
*# 1990 Ken Snow, Indiana   
*# 1989 Tony Meola, Virginia 
*# 1988 Ken Snow, Indiana 
# 1987 Bruce Murray, Clemson
* 1987 John Harkes, Virginia
*# 1986 John Kerr, Duke
1985 Tom Kain, Duke
1984 Amr Aly, Columbia
1983 Mike Jeffries, Duke
1982 Joe Ulrich, Duke
1981 Armando Betancourt, Indiana
1980 Joe Morrone, UConn
1979 Jim Stamatis, Penn State
1978 Angelo DiBernardo, Indiana
1977 Billy Gazonas, Hartwick
1976 Glenn Myernick, Hartwick
1975 Steve Ralbovsky, Brown
1974 Farrukh Quraishi, SUNY Oneonta
1973 Dan Counce, St. Louis
1972 Mike Seerey, St. Louis
1971  Mike Seerey, St. Louis
1970 Al Trost, St. Louis
1969 Al Trost, St. Louis
1968 Manuel Hernandez, San Jose State
1967 Dov Markus, Long Island
Note: MAC Player of the Year Award and the Hermann Trophy Award merged in 2002
*MAC Player of the Year winner. #Hermann Trophy winner.

Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Winners
2016  Kadeisha Buchanan, West Virginia
2015  Raquel Rodriguez, Penn State
2014 Morgan Brian, Virginia
2013 Morgan Brian, Virginia
2012 Crystal Dunn, North Carolina
2011 Teresa Noyola, Stanford
2010 Christen Press, Stanford
2009 Kelley O'Hara, Stanford
2008 Kerri Hanks, Notre Dame
2007 Mami Yamaguchi, Florida State
2006 Kerri Hanks, Notre Dame
2005 Christine Sinclair, Portland
2004 Christine Sinclair, Portland
2003 Cat Reddick, North Carolina
2002 Aly Wagner, Santa Clara
2001 Christie Welsh, Penn State
2000 Anne Mäkinen, Notre Dame
1999 Mandy Clemens, Santa Clara
1998 Cindy Parlow, North Carolina
1997 Cindy Parlow, North Carolina
1996 Cindy Daws, Notre Dame
1995 Shannon MacMillan, Portland
1994 Tisha Venturini, North Carolina
1993 Mia Hamm, North Carolina
1992 Mia Hamm, North Carolina
1991 Kristine Lilly, North Carolina
1990 April Kater, Massachusetts
1989 Shannon Higgins, North Carolina
1988 Michelle Akers, Central Florida

Next story loading loading..