MLS Discipline: Panel overturns Gonzalez Pirez red card

Atlanta United lost its match against Montreal last weekend but has won an appeal of a red card that dismissed Leandro Gonzalez Pirez.

In first-half stoppage time, he dueled Impact forward Matteo Mancosu for a bouncing ball in the penalty area and when Mancosu fell down under his challenge referee Alan Kelly whistled for a penalty kick and also sent off González Pirez for denial of an obvious goalscoring opportunity.

Ignacio Piatti converted the penalty kick to tie the game, 1-1, and playing against 10 men Montreal eventually scored the winner for a 2-1 win.

After reviewing the incident, the Independent Panel -- consisting of one representative each from U.S. Soccer, Canadian Soccer Association, and Professional Referees’ Organization -- unanimously decided to rescind the red card, fine, and one-game suspension imposed by MLS. Gonzalez Pirez is eligible to play this weekend against Real Salt Lake.

Each team is allowed two unsuccessful appeals per season, including playoffs. As in this case with Atlanta United, a successful appeal does not count towards the allotment.

3 comments about "MLS Discipline: Panel overturns Gonzalez Pirez red card".
  1. Ric Fonseca, April 20, 2017 at 2:16 p.m.

    Very interesting! I wonder if this very same "panel" of so-called "experts" studied the Tim Howard situation - obviously not as we would've heard about it by now - instead and obviously works the review system this way? And what about the drunken lout that Howard had to confront, anything happen to him e.g. prohibit him from attending any more games, or what? Why is Garber so silent on this matter? Something is sure as hell way off balance here!!!

  2. Fajkus Rules, April 20, 2017 at 2:28 p.m.

    Left out of the article above is the underlying rule misapplication that justified the decision. Kelly should have given a yellow card for a DOGSO type foul INSIDE the penalty area. Effectively, DOGSO red cards can only occur OUTSIDE the penalty area now, which was the result of the IFAB effort to eliminate the triple-penalty.

  3. Fajkus Rules, April 20, 2017 at 2:30 p.m.

    The Howard situation, however, is subjective, not a misapplication of a specific rule.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications