CCL: Omar Gonzalez adds to packed trophy case

Omar Gonzalez might have been disappointed at first when MLS salary rules pushed him out the door at the LA Galaxy, but the move has all turned out well as he won his second trophy at Mexico's Pachuca, capturing the Concacaf Champions League on Wednesday. It gives 11 championships (national team, pros, college and youth) in the last 13 years.

Omar Gonzalez's 11 Championships:
USYSA (2005-06): Dallas Texans
NCAA (2008): University of Maryland
MLS Supporters' Shield (2010-11): LA Galaxy
MLS Cup (2011-12, 2014): LA Galaxy
Gold Cup (2013): USA
Liga MX (Clausura 2016): Pachuca
Concacaf Champions League (2017): Pachuca

Gonzalez started all six games in the knockout phase as the Tuzos won the CCL title for the second time and sixth Concacaf club championship. They beat Tigres, 1-0, on a late goal by Franco Jara to win the 2017 final, 2-1, on aggregate.

He has now won a championship in every year except 2007, 2009 and 2015 since his first title, the 2005 USYSA under-18 boys championship, which he won at the national finals in Des Moines, Iowa, days after being admitted to a nearby hospital for I.V. treatments.

His play with the Texans for whom he played as a forward drew the attention of the U.S. U-17 national team and his international career began at the 2005 Under-17 World Cup alongside Jozy Altidore and Neven Subotic, who later played for Serbia at the World Cup.

Gonzalez played three years at Maryland, winning an NCAA championship in 2008 on a team that also included Zac MacMath, Graham Zusi and A.J. DeLaGarza. Gonzalez and DeLaGarza were taken by the LA Galaxy in the 2009 MLS SuperDraft and spent seven years together.

In 2013, the Galaxy signed Gonzalez, the 2011 MLS Defender of the Year and 2012 MLS Cup MVP, to a multi-year contract as a Designated Player, making him the first American defender to earn DP status.

After signing Steven Gerrard and Giovani dos Santos to join Robbie Keane and Gonzalez on DP contracts in July 2015, the Galaxy accounted for Gonzalez's contract for the second half of the season with TAM but could not do so for a full season, prompting his move to Pachuca in January 2016.

Both of Gonzalez's parents are Mexican immigrants, so he is qualified as a Mexican to play in Liga MX until the implementation of the 10/8 rule in 2016.

CCL American Champions:
2017: Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca)
2016: Ventura Alvarado (Club America)
2015: Ventura Alvarado (Club America)
2010: Jose Torres (Pachuca)
1 comment about "CCL: Omar Gonzalez adds to packed trophy case".
  1. Craig Cummings, April 27, 2017 at 9:16 p.m.

    When Omar left the Galaxy I was sad, but now I am happy for him. Way to go Omar.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications