Texans SC Houston are only non-MLS club at this weekend's Development Academy championships

By Mike Woitalla

Texans SC Houston, which beat Real So Cal, 2-0, in the U.S. Soccer Development Academy U-17/18 quarterfinals, is the only non-MLS club to reach the semifinals at either age group.

Alex Alaniz and Alex Bruce scored overtime goals for the Texans to book their trip to this weekend’s Development Academy Championships in Carson, California.

Bruce, who is headed to the University of Memphis along with Texans’ teammates Alaniz and Bryant Huerta, is the team’s second leading scorer with 15 goals, behind Christian Cappis (17 goals). SMU-bound Cappis set up Alaniz’s quarterfinal goal.

U-17/18 Quarterfinals:
July 7
Colorado Rapids 2, Orlando City SC 1
Texans SC Houston 2, Real So Cal 0 (OT)
Seattle Sounders FC 3, Crossfire Premiere 2 (OT)
LA Galaxy 1, Real Salt Lake AZ 1 (PKs: 4-1)

The Texans are coached by Eric Quill, a Texas product who played MLS ball for Tampa Bay, Kansas City, Dallas and the MetroStars in 1997-2005. Its assistant coaches include Miguel Becerra, a former Liga MX goalkeeper whose clubs included Chivas Guadalajara, Querétaro and Santos Laguna.

• At the U-15/16 level, FC Dallas returns to the final four with a chance to win an unprecedented third straight title. FC Dallas is the only semifinal returnee from last season at either age group.

• FC Dallas’ Jesus Ferreira, who scored a hat trick in the win over the Rapids, already made his MLS debut, scoring in a 6-2 win over Real Salt Lake June. Atlanta United’s Andrew Carleton debuted in MLS on May 20. FC Dallas’ Bryan Reynolds signed a Homegrown contract late last year.

U-15/16 Quarterfinals
July 6
FC Dallas 5 Colorado Rapids 0
Atlanta United 4 Bethesda SC 1
Real Salt Lake AZ 3 Sporting Kansas City 0
Vancouver Whitecaps 3 Seattle Sounders 0

* * * * * * * * * *

Development Academy Championships Schedule

U-15/16 Semifinals
July 14 in Carson, Calif.
FC Dallas-Real Salt Lake AZ (4 pm ET)
Atlanta United-Vancouver Whitecaps (6 pm ET)

U-17/18 Third-place/Final
July 16 in Carson, Calif.
1 pm ET/6:30 pm ET

U-17/18 Semifinals
Friday, July 14 in Carson, Calif.
Seattle Sounders-LA Galaxy (8:30 pm ET)
Texans SC Houston-Colorado Rapids (11 pm ET)

U-17/18 Third-place/Final
Sunday, July 16 in Carson, Calif.
2 pm ET/9 pm ET

• Games will be stream live on U.S. Soccer Development Academy Facebook page.

* * * * * * * * * *

All-time Development Academy Champions

2016 FC Dallas
2015 FC Dallas
2014 LA Galaxy
2013 Real Salt Lake AZ
2012 New York Red Bulls
2011 LA Galaxy
2010 Chicago Fire
2009 Derby County Wolves**
2008 Carmel United*

2016 FC Dallas
2015 Chicago Fire
2014 PDA
2013 New York Red Bulls
2012 FC Dallas
2011 Pateadores
2010 Vardar SC
2009 Carmel United*
2008 Baltimore Bays
* Now Indiana Fire. ** Now Crew Soccer Academy Wolves.

* * * * * * * * * *

Michigan Hawks are ECNL Club of the Year

The Michigan Hawks won ECNL titles at U-17 and U-18 level, earning the club the girls league's "Club of the Year" award. The Hawks had also won the U-17 national title in 2016. The Hawks’ U-17s are coached by Derek Williford and the U-18s by Doug Landefeld.

Michigan Hawks' U-17s

2016-17 ECNL Finals
Solar Chelsea 3 Eclipse Select 1
So Cal Blues 7 Solar Chelsea 2
FC Dallas 2 Stars of Massachusetts 1
Michigan Hawks 3 Crossfire Premier 2
Michigan Hawks 3 San Diego Surf 2

* * * * * * * * * *

All-time ECNL Champions

U-14 PDA
U-15 Eclipse Select SC
U-16 Dallas Sting
U-17 PDA
U-18 Ohio Premier
U-14 Michigan Hawks
U-15 San Diego Surf
U-16 Eclipse Select SC
U-17 Dallas Sting
U-18 PDA
U-14 Slammers FC
U-15 So Cal Blue
U-16 West Coast FC
U-17 PDA
U-18 Michigan Hawks
U-14 So Cal Blues
U-15 Slammers FC
U-16 PDA
U-17 Michigan Hawks
U-18 Slammers FC
U-14 Solar Chelsea
U-15 So Cal Blues
U-16 FC Dallas
U-17 Michigan Hawks
U-18 Michigan Hawks

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications