By the Numbers: USA at the Gold Cup

Bruce Arena will become the first coach to win three Gold Cup titles if the USA beats Jamaica in Wednesday's final. He's never lost to a Concacaf team in 22 matches.

The USA has never lost to a Concacaf team at the Gold Cup under Bruce Arena in 22 games. He has a 17-1-4 record, making him the winningest coach in the history of the tournament. His lone defeat was to invitee Brazil in the 2003 semifinals.

Arena is one of only two coaches who have won two Gold Cup titles, guiding the USA to the 2002 and 2005 championships. Bora Milutinovic led the USA to the 1991 title and Mexico to championship in 1996.

Four players on the U.S. roster have started on Gold Cup championship teams: Clint Dempsey in 2005 and 2007, Tim Howard in 2007 and Matt Besler and Joe Corona in 2013.

The USA will play in its 10th Gold Cup, the most of any team.

Most Gold Cup Finals:
10 USA (5-4)
8 Mexico (7-1)
2 Brazil (0-2)
2 Panama (0-2)
2 Jamaica (0-1)

With 11 goals in five matches, the USA leads all teams in scoring at the 2017 Gold Cup. Four teams -- Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Mexico -- are tied for second with six.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications