Gold Cup: Where does the USA's 2017 title rank?

Ranking the USA's six Gold Cup titles isn't easy.

It's hard to beat the first one in 1991, at the first Gold Cup in Los Angeles. The USA-Mexico rivalry as week know it was born when Bora Milutinovic's boys beat El Tri, 2-0, in the semifinals.

The 2007 Gold Cup title was probably the sweetest, the only one of the six over archrival Mexico before a full house in Chicago and with both teams at full strength.

The other four Gold Cup titles all share one thing in common. They came at pre-World Cup tournaments: 2002 in the winter before Korea/Japan, where the USA reached the quarterfinals, and 2005, 2013 and 2017 in the summer.

The USA was already qualified for the finals in 2002 and in great shape in 2005 and 2013.

The 2013 Gold Cup title capped a record 13-game winning streak under Jurgen Klinsmann but came with the USA, six points ahead of fourth-place Honduras, already almost assured of being headed the 2014 World Cup.

If the USA qualifies for the 2018 World Cup, Wednesday's 2-1 victory over Jamaica in the final will have been considered an important step in the process, a valuable learning for Arena and his players.

But if the USA fails to qualify for Russia, the 2017 Gold Cup title will mean little.

USA Gold Cup victories:
1991: USA 0 Honduras 0 (4-3 on PKs)
USA -- Meola, Caligiuri, Balboa, Doyle, Clavijo, Quinn, Henderson, Murray (Kinnear 98), Perez, Vermes, Wynalda (Eck 71).

2002: USA 2 Costa Rica 0.
USA -- Keller; Hejduk, Mastroeni, Agoos, Bocanegra; Jones (West, 85), Armas, Lewis, Donovan; McBride (Mathis, 89), Wolff (Williams, 79).

2005: USA 0 Panama 0 (3-1 on PKs)
USA -- Keller; Hejduk, Conrad, Onyewu, Vanney; Armas, O’Brien, Donovan; Dempsey (Davis, 84), Wolff (Quaranta, 62), Beasley (Olsen, 114).

2007: USA 2 Mexico 1.
USA -- Howard; Spector (Simek, 72), Onyewu, Bocanegra, Bornstein; Dempsey (Twellman, 69), Feilhaber, Mastroeni (Clark, 46), Beasley; Ching, Donovan.

2013: USA 1 Panama 0.
USA -- Rimando; Parkhurst, Goodson, Besler, Beasley; Beckerman, Holden (Diskerud, 23); Bedoya (Gonzalez, 89), Donovan, Corona (Shea, 68); Johnson.

2017: USA 2 Jamaica 1.
USA -- Howard, Zusi, Gonzalez, Besler, Villafana, Arriola (Zardes, 76), Acosta (Dempsey, 55), Bradley, Nagbe (McCarty, 90+), Altidore, Morris.
2 comments about "Gold Cup: Where does the USA's 2017 title rank?".
  1. Fire Paul Gardner Now, July 27, 2017 at 10:24 a.m.

    I think 2007 was the best. The second Gold Cup in the cycle is not taken as seriously and gets lost in the shuffle with WCQ and the Confed Cup taking place in the same summer.

  2. Bruce Moorhead, July 27, 2017 at 3:25 p.m.

    It was a record 12-game win streak June to August 2013.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications