Newcomers break into U.S. U-17 boys squad

There usually isn't a lot of turnover between the teams the USA uses in qualifying and takes to the Under-17 World Cup finals, but this time that could be different even if the USA went unbeaten in qualifying, only losing to Mexico in the Concacaf final on penalty kicks.

Six newcomers. Six players in the 22-player squad John Hackworth has named for the 2017 Vaclav Jezek Youth Tournament, which begins on Monday in Prague, weren't part of the qualifying squad.

Hackworth, who said he was able to get almost every player he requested released for the trip, has called in Carlos Asensio (Atlanta United academy), Tyler Shaver (New York City FC academy), Alex Mendez (LA Galaxy academy), Ulysses Llanez (LA Galaxy academy), Alejandro Pereira (Orlando City academy) and Jacobo Reyes (Monterrey/MEX).

Llanez recently returned to the U.S. fold after playing for Mexico youth teams earlier in the year. Llanez and Mendez are both 2001s.

Four not on the trip. Four players in the 20-player squad Hackworth took to Panama for Concacaf qualifying won't be going to Prague: Ayo Akinola, a starter during the qualifying run, Bryan Reynolds, who came off the bench in the final against Mexico, Zyen Jones and Adrian Villegas.

18+3 for India. Hackworth is taking two goalkeepers and 20 field players to Prague, but he will have to take three goalkeepers in his 21-player squad to India for the Under-17 World Cup. That means he'll have to cut at least two field players he's taking to Prague.

Two years ago ... In 2015, Richie Williams took 19 of the 20 players he had in qualifying -- every player except McKinze Gaines -- to Chile to the Under-17 World Cup.

U.S. Roster:                                                      
GOALKEEPERS (2): Carlos Joaquim Dos Santos (Benfica/POR), Justin Garces (Atlanta United academy).
DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Asensio (Atlanta United academy), Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls academy), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting KC academy), James Sands (New York City FC), Tyler Shaver (New York City FC academy), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State), Akil Watts (Portland Timbers academy).
MIDFIELDERS (7): George Acosta (North Carolina FC academy), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake academy), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC), Chris Goslin (Atlanta United), Alex Mendez (LA Galaxy academy), Indiana Vassilev (Unattached).
FORWARDS (6): Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United), Ulysses Llanez (LA Galaxy academy), Alejandro Pereira (Orlando City academy), Jacobo Reyes (Monterrey/MEX), Josh Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri), Timothy Weah (Paris SG/FRA).
1 comment about "Newcomers break into U.S. U-17 boys squad".
  1. don Lamb, August 18, 2017 at 8:13 a.m.

    The U20s were always going to be overmatched at some point in their tournament. I've got higher hopes for this group, which is much more talented.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications