U.S. U-19 women beat Japan, China and Iran

The U.S. U-19 women’s national team, coached by Keri Sarver, won the China FA International Youth Tournament with wins over Japan (1-0), China (2-1) and Iran (5-0). Forward Alexa Spaanstra of the Michigan Hawks was named tournament MVP and Claudia Dickey  (Charlotte Soccer Academy) was named top keeper.

Spaanstra scored one goal and assisted twice against Iran — the win that clinched the title for the USA — and scored the gamewinner against China.

Brianna Pinto (CASL) scored the USA’s fourth goal against Iran and the gamewinner against Japan.

Sept 14 in Dunyun, China
USA 5 Iran 0
Goals: Holmes (Alexa) 13, Spaanstra 21, Dyke (Wiesner) 67, Pinto (Shae Holmes) 77, Canniff (Alexa Spaanstra) 86.
USA lineup — McClelland; Girma (Dawson, 63), Bell, Desiano (Wiesner, 46), Holmes, Dyke, Gray (Pinto, 46), Nighswonger (Wheeler, 26), Canniff, Spaanstra, Gambone (Yates, 72).
Att.: 1,000

Sept. 12 Dunyun, China
China 2 USA 1
Goals: Dou Jiaxing (pen.) 85, Nighswonger 77, Spaanstra 90.
USA lineup: Dickey; Dawson, Girma, Martinez, Wiesner (Holmes, 46), Howell, Yates (Dyke, 61), Pinto (Nighswonger, 74), Jones (Canniff, 61), Brewster (Spaanstra, 82), Smith
Att.: 4,888

Sept. 10, 2017
USA 1 Japan 0
Goal: Pinto (Brewster) 64.
USA lineup — Dickey; Dawson, Girma, Martinez, Holmes (Wiesner, 63),Howell (Nighswonger, 74),Yates (Dyke, 63), Pinto, Jones (Canniff, 83), Brewster, Smith (Spaanstra, 74)
Att.: n/a

U.S. U-19 women’s national team
GOALKEEPERS (2): Claudia Dickey (Charlotte Soccer Academy; Charlotte, N.C.), Meagan McClelland (Sky Blue-PDA; Kearny, N.J.).
DEFENDERS (7): Maycee Bell (Sporting Blue Valley; Wichita, Kan.), Sydney Dawson (Internationals SC; Akron, Ohio), Madelyn Desiano (So Cal Blue Soccer Club; San Clemente, Calif.), Naomi Girma (California Thorns FC; San Jose, Calif.), Shae Holmes (Real Colorado; Highland Ranch, Colo.), Brianna Martinez (New Mexico Rush; Albuquerque, N.M.), Kate Wiesner (LAFC Slammers; Monrovia, Calif.).
MIDFIELDERS (7): Cori Dyke (Colorado Rush; Littleton, Colo.), Emily Gray (Penn Fusion; Sewell, N.J.), Jaelin Howell (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Jenna Nighswonger (LAFC Slammers; Huntington Beach, Calif.), Brianna Pinto (CASL; Durham, N.C.), Astrid Wheeler (Concorde Fire; Atlanta, Ga.), Summer Yates (Pacific NW; Pasco, Wash.).
FORWARDS (6): Jordan Brewster (Internationals SC; North Canton, Ohio), Jordan Canniff (Washington Spirit Academy – Baltimore Armour; California, Md.), Aleigh Gambone (Texas Rush; El Paso, Texas), Rachel Jones (NTH Tophat; Lawrenceville, Ga.), Sophia Smith (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Alexa Spaanstra (Michigan Hawks; Brighton, Mich.).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications