NASL Playoff Race: 'Insane call' denies Cosmos playoff-clinching win

North Carolina FC clinched the third spot in the NASL playoffs on Sunday when the New York Cosmos and Jacksonville Armada played to a wild 4-4 before a sellout crowd of 7,611 fans at Hodges Stadium.

The Cosmos, who lead the Armada by two points heading into the final week of the fall season, could have clinched the fourth spot in the semifinals but were denied a fifth goal when referee Geoff Gamble blew the whistle in stoppage time with the Cosmos on a three-on-one counterattack after Jacksonville brought up keeper Caleb Patterson-Sewell to seek the winner on a corner kick,

“I’ve never seen anything like it," said Cosmos head coach Giovanni Savarese. "A breakaway to score a goal and the referee actually took the goal away. It’s a goal that could have defined an entire season. I can’t believe that he called it away. It was insane.”

The Cosmos had come back from 3-1 down to take a 4-3 lead before the Armada's Charles Eloundou scored to even the score.

NASL Results:
Indy Eleven 1 Puerto Rico FC 2
North Carolina FC 1 FC Deltas 1
FC Edmonton 0 Miami FC 2
Jacksonville 4 New York Cosmos 4

NASL Combined Standings:
66 *Miami FC (30)
54 SF Deltas (28)
44 North Carolina FC (23) 
42 New York Cosmos (18)
40 Jacksonville (16)
32 FC Edmonton (14)
27 Indy Eleven (12)
22 Puerto Rico FC (13)
*Spring champion.

NASL Schedule:
Puerto Rico FC vs. FC Edmonton 7:30 pm ESPN3
Puerto Rico FC vs. New York Cosmos 7:30 pm beIN Sports en Espanol
Miami FC vs. FC Edmonton 7:30 ESPN3
SF Deltas vs. Jacksonville 8 pm Twitter
Indy Eleven vs. North Carolina FC 5 pm ESPN3

1 comment about "NASL Playoff Race: 'Insane call' denies Cosmos playoff-clinching win".
  1. Kent James, October 23, 2017 at 1:33 p.m.

    It would be nice if the almost 7 minutes of highlights included the "insane call" of the headline.  Without seeing it, I'm guessing the referee extended the time to allow the corner kick, and was going to call the game if the offensive team did not score.  Usually that would not be a problem, since the defense is happy to have the ball cleared and no goal scored.  If the keeper is up, and the defensive team maintains possession, should that play (probably already extended to allow the corner to finish) continue, or once the offensive team doesn't score, is it over?  I can see both sides.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications