Cristiano Ronaldo and Lieke Martens take top FIFA awards for 2017

Cristiano Ronaldo beat out Lionel Messi and Neymar to win the 2017 Men's Player of the Year at the Best FIFA Awards, while Dutch star Lieke Martens edged two-time winner Carli Lloyd and Florida State sophomore Deyna Castellanos for the 2017 Women's Player of the Year.

This is the first year the awards have been based on the traditional soccer calendar -- fall to summer -- not calendar year itself. In past years, the awards gala was held in January.

2017 Best FIFA Awards:

Men's player of the year: Cristiano Ronaldo
Women's player of the year: Lieke Martens
Fair play award: Francis Kone
Goalkeeper of the year: Gianluigi Buffon
Men's soccer coach of the year: Zinedine Zidane
Women's soccer coach of the year: Sarina Wiegman
Fans of the year: Celtic
Puskas goal of the year award: Olivier Giroud (Arsenal)
1 comment about "Cristiano Ronaldo and Lieke Martens take top FIFA awards for 2017".
  1. John Soares, October 25, 2017 at 1:36 p.m.

    DEYNA CASTELLANOS?????????????????

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications