Atlanta United's Gressel named MLS Rookie of the Year

German midfielder Julian Gressel, the No. 8 pick out in the 2017 MLS SuperDraft out of Providence, was named the 2017 AT&T Rookie of the Year.

AT&T Rookie of the Year:
53.86% Julian Gressel (ATL)
16.22% Abu Danladi (MIN)
7.86% Jack Elliott (PHI)
4.25% Nick Lima (SJ)
3.44% Ian Harkes (DC)
2.30% Jake Nerwinski (VAN)

Photo courtesy of Atlanta United.

Gressel, the first European player to win the top rookie award, won a starting job in preseason and kept it most of the season. He appeared in 32 matches with 24 starts and scored five goals. His nine assists are the third most assists in MLS history.

Atlanta United, the first expansion team to make the MLS playoffs in its first season since Seattle in 2009, also has two finalists for Newcomer of the Year and one each for MVP and Coach of the Year.
MLS Rookie of the Year winners:
2017 -- Julian Gressel (Atlanta United).
2016 -- Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounder).
2015 -- Cyle Larin (Orlando City).
2014 -- Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas).
2013 -- Dillon Powers (Colorado Rapids).
2012 -- Austin Berry (Chicago Fire).
2011 -- C.J. Sapong (Sporting Kansas City).
2010 -- Andy Najar (D.C. United).
2009 -- Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy).
2008 -- Sean Franklin (LA Galaxy).
2007 -- Maurice Edu (Toronto FC).
2006 -- Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA).
2005 -- Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution).
2004 -- Clint Dempsey (New England Revolution).
2003 -- Damani Ralph (Chicago Fire).
2002 -- Kyle Martino (Columbus Crew).
2001 -- Rodrigo Faria (MetroStars).
2000 -- Carlos Bocanegra (Chicago Fire).
1999 -- Jay Heaps (Miami Fusion)
1998 -- Ben Olsen (D.C. United).
1997 -- Mike Duhaney (Tampa Bay Mutiny).
1996 -- Steve Ralston (Tampa Bay Mutiny).

1 comment about "Atlanta United's Gressel named MLS Rookie of the Year".
  1. Craig Cummings, November 8, 2017 at 10:21 p.m.

    How many of these players have made an impact on US NAT team?

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications