Deltas' Marc Dos Santos named NASL Coach of the Year

Canadian Marc Dos Santos, who has led the first-year San Francisco Deltas to the NASL championship game, was named the NASL Coach of the Year for the second time in three years when he won the 2017 award.

With the team's future in doubt since the split-season break when owner Brian Andres Helmick warned about the poor crowds at Kezar Stadium, Dos Santos kept the Deltas on an even keel. They finished second in the overall standings with a 14-6-12 record behind spring and fall champion Miami FC.

Dos Santos, 40, has now led three different teams to three straight championship games. He was named NASL Coach of the Year in 2015 when the Ottawa Fury reached the final against the New York Cosmos. In 2016, he led Swope Park Rangers to the USL title game against the New York Red Bulls II.
NASL Coaches of the Year:
2011: Manny Lagos (Minnesota Stars)
2012: Ricky Hill (Tampa Bay)
2013: Brian Haynes (Atlanta)
2014: Manny Lagos (Minnesota United)
2015: Marc Dos Santos (Ottawa)
2016: Tim Hankinson (Indy Eleven)
2017: Marc Dos Santos (SF Deltas)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications