Tim Melia, from MLS pool keeper to Goalkeeper of the Year

Sporting Kansas City's Tim Melia, a former MLS pool goalkeeper who played just six games in his first five seasons, was voted the 2017 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year.

2017 Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year:
50.29% Tim Melia (SKC)
10.13% Andre Blake (PHI)
8.24% Stefan Frei (SEA)
4.33% Alex Bono (TOR)
4.33% Sean Johnson (NYC)
2.61% Brad Guzan (ATL)
The 31-year-old Melia put together his strongest MLS season with a league-leading 0.78 goals-against average and 78.4 save percentage among goalkeepers to make at least 15 regular-season appearances and 10 shutouts, ranked second in the league.

In his third season as Sporting’s starting goalkeeper, he set career highs in wins (12), shutouts (10), saves (91), minutes (2,759) and games started (31). Melia also helped Sporting KC win the 2017 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup.
Kansas City’s defense led MLS by conceding the fewest goals this season with 29, the third-lowest total since the league’s 34-game regular season format.

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:
2017: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
2016: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union
2015: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls
2014: Bill Hamid – D.C. United
2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications