USL awards: San Antonio FC duo Restrepo and Ibeagha honored

San Antonio FC goalkeeper Diego Restrepo had been voted the 2017 USL Goalkeeper of the Year while teammate Sebastien Ibeagha was named the league's Defender of the Year. The San Antonio defense conceded the fewest goals in the USL and led the league in shutouts.
Goalkeeper of the Year:
50% Diego Restrepo (San Antonio FC)
26% Earl Edwards Jr. (Orlando City B)
24% Mitch Hildebrandt (FC Cincinnati)

Defender of the Year:
54% Sebastien Ibeagha (San Antonio FC)
27% Paco Craig (Louisville City)
19% Harrison Delbridge (FC Cincinnati)

Chris Wehan, a first-year pro out of the University of New Mexico, was named the Rookie of the Year after posting 12 assists, which tied the league record. He was also third on Reno with eight goals as it set a USL single-season record with 75 goals in the regular season.

Rookie of the Year:
72% Chris Wehan (Reno 1868)
14% Richard Ballard (Louisville City)
14% Santi Moar (Bethlehem Steel)

The Real Monarchs' Mark Briggs, promoted to head coach after Mike Petke took over Real Salt Lake, was named the Coach of the Year. He led the Monarchs to the regular-season championship.
Coach of the Year:

41% Mark Briggs (Real Monarchs)
31% James O’Connor (Louisville City)
28% Ian Russell (Reno 1868)
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications