Toronto FC's Vanney named MLS Coach of the Year

Greg Vanney, who led Toronto FC to a record-setting season, was named the 2017 MLS Coach of the Year.

Vanney, who was named head coach in August 2014 and re-signed a multi-year extension in July, beat out Atlanta United's Gerard Martino in the voting of MLS clubs, players and media.

Vanney won the voting of club officials and media, while Martino was first in the player vote. NYCFC's Patrick Vieira was second in the voting of club officials.

2017 MLS Coach of the Year:
37.07% Greg Vanney (Toronto FC)
22.3% Gerardo “Tata” Martino (Atlanta United)
9.92% Veljko Paunovic (Chicago)
9.13% Patrick Vieira (NYCFC)
3.17% Carl Robinson (Vancouver)
1.59% Gregg Berhalter (Columbus)

TFC, which plays Columbus Crew SC in the second leg of the Eastern Conference finals on Wednesday, set a league record for points in a season with 69 points, beating the record the 1998 LA Galaxy set with 68 points. TFC won its first MLS Supporters’ Shield with a record of 20-5-9.

In addition, Toronto FC set several club records during the 2017 regular season:

-- wins (20);
-- road wins (7)
-- home points (42); and
-- road points (27).

MLS Coach of the Year winners:
2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
2015: Jesse Marsch – NY Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications