MLS Moves: Crew retains 19 players for 2018 season

Two days after losing to Toronto FC in the Eastern Conference final, Columbus Crew SC announced it will retain 19 players for the 2018 season.

It exercised the contract options on nine players from its 2017 roster, while 10 others were already under contract for the 2018 season.

The Crew declined the contract options of goalkeepers Logan Ketterer and Brad Stuver; defenders Waylon Francis and Gaston Sauro; and midfielders Marshall Hollingsworth, Abuchi Obinwa, Rodrigo Saravia and Ben Swanson. It will remain in discussions with Sauro and Francis in the offseason and also extended an offer to Kekuta Manneh, who is out of contract.

2018 Columbus Crew SC's roster:
Goalkeepers (1): Zack Steffen
Defenders (7): *Lalas Abubakar, *Harrison Afful, Alex Crognale, *Connor Maloney, Jonathan Mensah, Jukka Raitala, *Josh Williams
Midfielders (9): *Artur (on loan from Sao Paulo), *Mohammed Abu, *Niko Hansen, Federico Higuain, Hector Jimenez, *Cristian Martinez, Justin Meram, Pedro Santos, Wil Trapp
Forwards (2): Adam Jahn, *Ola Kamara
*Options exercised.



Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications