NCAA Division I Men: Indiana advances to College Cup for record 19th time

Top-seed Indiana beat Big Ten rival Michigan State, 3-2, on penalty kicks after their game ended in a 1-1 tie to move into next week's Men's College Cup in Chester, Pa.

Quarterfinals, Schedule:
#3 North Carolina vs. Fordham, 6 pm ET ESPN3
#1 Wake Forest  vs. #9 Stanford, 7 pm ET ESPN3
Men's College Cup:  Dec. 8-10 in Chester, Pa.

Freshman keeper Trey Muse stopped Giuseppe Barone's shot in the fifth round to send the unbeaten Hoosiers (17-0-6) to their 19th College Cup, the most of any Division I men's school in NCAA history. It will be IU's first College Cup berth since 2012, when it won its eighth NCAA championship.

In the Big Ten final against Wisconsin, Muse, who spent time with the Seattle Sounders FC 2 team in the USL, had been replaced in goal by Sean Caulfield for the PK shootout.

Michigan State scored less than two minutes into the game when DeJuan Jones set up Ryan Sierakowski and the Spartans' Jimmy Hague held off a furious IU attack, making seven saves in the first half.

Trevor Swartz finally equalized in the 60th minute when he scored directly off a corner kick.

Dec. 1 in Bloomington, Ind.
Indiana 1 Michigan State 1 (Indiana wins 3-2 on penalties). Goals: Sierakowski (Krolicki, Jones) 2; Swartz 60.
Indiana -- Muse, Lillard, Gutman, Buckmaster, Mehl, Swartz, Thomas, Panchot, Moore, Dorsey, Toye. Subs: Hyacenth, Rennicks, Glass.
Michigan State -- Hague, Fiscus, Pimlott, Centala, Freitag, Corrigan, Wetungu, Krolicki, Barone, Jones, Sierakowski. Subs: Barone, Marcantognini, Miller.
Att.: 5,450.

No. 5 seed Akron beat No. 4 seed Louisville, 4-3, in a shootout after their game ended 0-0.

The meeting was the first between the schools since the Zips won their lone NCAA title in 2010 with a 1-0 victory over the Cardinals in the final in Santa Barbara, Calif.

In the sixth round of the shootout, Akron's German keeper, Ben Lundt, stopped Sawyer Edwards' shot with a diving save to set up senior Niko De Vera for the winning penalty kick.

Akron will play in the semifinals for the fifth time after appearances in 1986, 2009, 2010 and 2015.
Dec. 1 in Louisville, Ky.

Louisville 0 Akron 0 (Akron wins 4-3 on penalties).
Louisville -- Meyer, Fekri, Cochran, Kunkel, Kubel, Cabon, Andriot, Bennett, Wilson, Schmitt, Thiaw. Subs: El-Fitouri, Edwards, Dieye, Jennings.
Akron -- Lundt, Moutinho, De Vera, Shultz, Strachan, Harter, Cordeiro, Belana, Gainford, Holthusen, Zajac. Subs: Hinds, Egbo, Kahsay.
Att.: 3,179.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications