Morgan is named Concacaf Female Player of the Year

Alex Morgan was named the Concacaf Female Player of the Year for the second year in a row and the third time. She also won last year and in 2013 when it was given out for the first time. Americans have won the award all five years. Abby Wambach won it in 2014 and Carli Lloyd won in 2015.

Morgan led the USA with seven goals in 2017 despite not scoring until August. Her first game came in the final game of the Tournament of Nations against Japan and she ended the year with seven goals in her final seven international games for the USA to give her 80 career goals.

She scored nine goals in her last 12 games for the Orlando Pride and finished tied for fifth in the NWSL in goals. The Pride reached the playoffs for the first time.

Morgan, who was named to the NWSL Second XI, began the year at French club Lyon, which won the French women's league and cup titles and UEFA Women's Champions League. She started the Champions League final against rival Paris St. Germain but was forced to leave in the 23rd minute when she aggravated a hamstring injury.

Costa Rica goalkeeper Keylor Navas of Real Madrid won the 2017 Concacaf Male Player of the Year award.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications