Tony DiCicco named U.S. Soccer's Werner Fricker Builder Award winner

Tony DiCicco, winner of more U.S. national team games than any other coach in history, has been posthumously named the winner of U.S. Soccer's Werner Fricker Builder Award.

DiCicco, who died last June, was head coach of the USA's 1996 Olympic gold medal team, the 1999 Women's World Cup winners, and the 2008 U-20 World Cup champions. He was Anson Dorrance's assistant coach when the USA won the inaugural 1991 Women's World Cup.

"The Werner Fricker Award honors those who have left a positive legacy on American soccer and no one embodies that more than Tony DiCicco," said U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati. "We lost him too soon, but his impact and the way he cared about his players and the game, will be felt for generations. It will be an honor to present this award to Tony's family. U.S. Soccer was his extended family and always will be."

FURTHER READING: Thank you, Tony DiCicco

The Werner Fricker Award, launched in 2002, is considered the Federation's most highest honor.

"2017 has been an emotional year for the DiCicco family," said DiCicco's son, Anthony DiCicco. "Rather than mourning the loss of Tony, we have sought all year to celebrate his contributions on and off the field.

"The historic impact of his roles with the World Cup and Olympic teams is well known, but his leadership founding and managing the SoccerPlus companies from 1982 until his death, co-founding the Soccer Champions' Clinic in 2003, his efforts in the launch and growth of women's professional soccer, along with the thousands of hours spent sharing his knowledge and expertise with other coaches through USSF and NSCAA (now United Soccer Coaches) Coaching Education programs all contribute to his overarching work as one of the game's foremost builders. … For many who befriended him through the game, he is remembered for his personal investment and mentorship of countless individuals all of whom play and have played a role in the upward trajectory of soccer in the United States."

PHOTO GALLERY: In Remembrance - Coach Tony DiCicco
Tony DiCicco - Hall of Fame Builder Inductee

The award is named after the late Werner Fricker, who served as U.S. Soccer president for six years (1984-90) and was instrumental in bringing the 1994 World Cup to the United States. The USA qualified for the men's World Cup for the first time in 40 years Fricker's presidency. He started serving U.S. Soccer, as vice president, in 1975.

2002  Werner Fricker Sr.
2003  Sunil Gulati
2004  Honor not awarded
2005  Gerhard Mengel
2006  Sal Rapaglia
2007  Francisco Marcos
2008  Bob Gansler
2009  Alan Rothenberg
2010  Bob Contiguglia
2011  Kevin Payne
2012  Hank Steinbrecher
2013  Honor not awarded
2014  Richard Groff
2015  Bruce Arena
2016  Anson Dorrance
2017  Mary Harvey
2018  Tony DiCicco

1 comment about "Tony DiCicco named U.S. Soccer's Werner Fricker Builder Award winner".
  1. James Madison, December 21, 2017 at 11:24 p.m.

    I will always remember DeCicco telling us at an AYSO conference where he was presenting on GKing that the last thing he said to the 1999 Womens WCup in the locker room before the second half of the final was, "Go out and have fun."  That's what soccer should be, even at the highest level.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications