Sargent named U.S. Soccer Young Male Player of the Year

Josh Sargent, who won the Silver Boot with four goals at the Under-20 World Cup and then scored three more goals at the Under-17 World Cup, was named the 2017 U.S. Soccer Young Male Player of the Year.

Sargent tied Freddy Adu's U.S. record of seven all-time goals in men's youth world championships. He also recorded five goals and two assists while captaining the USA to second place at the 2017 Concacaf U-17 Championship.

Sargent, who earned his first call-up to the U.S. men's national team for the November friendly against Portugal, will turn pro with German Bundesliga club Werder Bremen when he turns 18 in February.

Voting. Sargent received 55 percent of the vote to finish ahead of U.S. U-20 teammates Tyler Adams (25 percent) and Erik Palmer-Brown (8 percent).

U.S. Soccer Young Male Player of the Year
1998 Josh Wolff
1999 Ben Olsen
2000 Landon Donovan
2001 DaMarcus Beasley
2002 Bobby Convey
2003 Freddy Adu
2004 Eddie Johnson
2005 Benny Feilhaber
2006 Jozy Altidore
2007 Michael Bradley
2008 Sacha Kljestan
2009 Luis Gil
2010 Gale Agbossoumonde
2011 Brek Shea
2012 Rubio Rubin
2013 Wil Trapp
2014 DeAndre Yedlin
2015 Matt Miazga
2016 Christian Pulisic
2017 Josh Sargent
1 comment about "Sargent named U.S. Soccer Young Male Player of the Year".
  1. Craig Cummings, December 26, 2017 at 9:52 p.m.

    Who and where is Gale A?

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications