FC Cincinnati signs NASL Best XI pick Ledesma from Cosmos

FC Cincinnati continued to bulk up for the 2018 season by adding 29-year-old Argentine forward Emmanuel Ledesma, an NASL Best XI pick for the New York Cosmos in 2017.

Ledesma, the 13th new player FC Cincinnati has signed in the offseason, had 10 goals and six assists for the Cosmos, who reached the NASL final, where they lost to the San Francisco Deltas, 2-0.

Except for a brief stint with Defensa y Justicia in Argentine, he has spent most of his career in Europe. He previous played for 11 teams in Italy, England and Greece.

Photo Courtesy: Jacksonville Armada FC

Ledesma was also one of five Cosmos players whose contracts expired following the conclusion of the 2017 NASL season along with defenders Dejan Jakovic and David Ochieng and midfielders Eugene Starikov and Juan Arango.

Other players who have already left: David Diosa (Real Monarchs), Jimmy Maurer (FC Dallas), Irvin Herrera (El Salvador’s FAS) and Pablo Vranjican (Colombia's Alianza Petrolera). The Cosmos are awaiting the outcome of its appeal of the decision confirming U.S. Soccer's decision denying the NASL Division 2 status in 2018.

FC Cincinnati head coach Alan Koch: "Emmanuel is a fantastic attacking player that has the ability to make something out of nothing. He has proven himself around the world and is coming off an excellent season with the Cosmos. We know that he will make a big impact with our club and we are excited to introduce him to our fans. He has an infectious personality and we look forward to working with him here in Cincinnati."

2018 FC Cincinnati roster:
Spencer Richey (Vancouver Whitecaps, loan)
Mark Village (Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2)

Matt Bahner (returning player)
Justin Hoyte (returning player)
Sem de Wit (returning player)
Garrett Halfhill (returning player)
Josu (returning player)
Paddy Barrett (Dundalk/IRE)
Dekel Keinan (Maccabi Haifa/ISR)
Forrest Lasso (Charleston Battery)

Kenney Walker (returning player)
Corben Bone (returning player)
Jimmy McLaughlin (returning player)
Will Seymore (Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2)
Tyler Gibson (San Francisco Deltas)
Lance Laing (North Carolina FC)

Danni Konig (returning player)
Daniel Haber (Real Monarchs)
Russell Cicerone (Portland Timbers 2)
Tommy Heinemann (San Francisco Deltas)
Emery Welshman (Puerto Rico FC)
Emmanuel Ledesma (New York Cosmos)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications