Hermann Trophy: Bakero gives Wake Forest back-to-back men's winners

Spaniard Jon Bakero became the second straight Wake Forest player to win the Hermann Trophy when he was presented with the 2017 award in ceremonies at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday night.

Bakero, who signed with MLS on Friday, joined Ian Harkes (2016) and Marcus Tracy (2008) as Wake winners in the last decade. He claimed the honor over finalists Tomas Hilliard-Arce of Stanford and Grant Lillard of Indiana. The senior led the country with 46 points on 16 goals and 14 assists, pacing a Deacon offense that ranked first with 58 goals.

"I want to thank Coach [Bobby] Muuss and my mom for being here, my dad and sister watching from home, and my girlfriend Ally for being here," Bakero said upon receiving the award. "I'm just very thankful for everyone who helped me get here."

His father is former Spanish star Jose Maria Bakero.

The MAC Hermann Trophy has been awarded on the men's side annually since 1967.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications