Hermann Trophy: Sullivan joins U.S. teammates O'Hara and Press as Stanford recipients

Andi Sullivan became the fourth Stanford player to win the Hermann Trophy on Friday as she was selected as the 2017 winner following the Cardinal's national championship season.

She follows Kelley O’Hara (2009) and Christen Press (2010), her teammates on the U.S. national team, and Teresa Noyola (2011).

“I feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to attend Stanford,” said Sullivan. “I would like to thank head coach Paul Ratcliffe, our whole staff and my teammates for always supporting me and making this such an incredible experience. I would also like to thank everyone who supported me and helped me throughout my recovery – this award is as much yours as it is mine."

Sullivan recovered from a knee injury suffered in the final game of the 2016 season to lead Stanford to its second national title. She appeared in all but three games in 2017. Those games were missed while on national team duty.

The other finalists included Canadian Jessie Fleming of UCLA and Savannah McCaskill of South Carolina.

Hermann Trophy ceremonies took place at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications