Miami FC will begin 2018 with team in NPSL

Miami FC, winner of both phases of the 2017 NASL split season, will field a team -- Miami FC 2 -- in the NPSL while it awaits the start of the NASL season in August.

The NASL lost four teams -- North Carolina FC and Indy Eleven moved to the USL while the champion San Francisco Deltas and FC Edmonton -- in the offseason, leaving it with four returning teams.

“Our players and coaches are excited to get back on the field,” said Miami FC CEO Sean Flynn, "and the NPSL schedule allows us to face some quality competition in the Sunshine Conference throughout the next few months. This is the next step in our continued investment in soccer in Miami."

Miami FC recently hired Paul Dalglish as its new head coach. Miami FC 2 will play at St. Thomas University in Miami Gardens, where Miami FC trains.
Armada also in. Besides Miami FC, Jacksonville Armada announced it will have a team in the NPSL this year. The seven teams in the Sunshine Conference will be Miami FC 2, Miami United FC, Beaches FC, Boca Raton FC, Naples United FC, Storm FC and Jacksonville Armada U-23.

And the rest ... The New York Cosmos have not announced their plans for the first part of 2018. In its first public statement in recent months, following the hurricane that devastated Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico FC said it appreciated the patience and support of its fans and corporate partners and it was awaiting the outcome of the lawsuit filed against U.S. Soccer to refocus its plans.

Of the two expansion teams planned for 2019, San Diego 1904 FC has already said it won't play in the NASL in 2018 because of stadium issues. The other team planned for 2018 is California United FC, based in Fullerton.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications