FC Tucson joins new USL Division III

FC Tucson, which plays in the PDL and hosts the major MLS preseason tournament, was announced as the second team in the new USL Division III and first in the league’s West Coast conference.

FC Tucson was formed in 2010 and has played in the amateur PDL since 2012, winning three Mountain Division championships (2014, 2015, 2017) and one Southwest Division Championship (2016). Phoenix Rising FC governor Berke Bakay leads the new ownership group in Tucson.

FC Tucson, which was sold last fall, plays at the Kino Sports Complex North Stadium. The former baseball complex is used by multiple MLS clubs each winter for preseason training.

South Georgia Tormenta FC, another PDL team, was announced as the first team in the new D3 league, which is slated to launch in 2019.

USL CEO Alec Papadakis. “FC Tucson’s move to USL Division III demonstrates the visionary ownership that exists within the USL system, and I applaud the club’s leadership for recognizing the opportunity to continue growing their clubs and the communities in which they operate."

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications