NWSL: Three USWNT players are allocated federation contracts for the first time

Three U.S. women's national team players were awarded federation contracts to play in the NWSL as allocated players for the first time.

Houston goalkeeper Jane Campbell, North Carolina defender Abby Dahlkemper (photo) and Washington Spirit defender Taylor Smith (acquired from the Courage in the offseason) became allocated players after strong 2017 seasons with the national team.

In addition, Crystal Dunn (North Carolina Courage) will become an allocated player again when she returns to the NWSL from Chelsea. Her NWSL rights were traded to the Courage in the deal that sent Smith and Ashley Hatch to the Spirit.

Canada internationals Adriana Leon (Sky Blue FC) and Rebecca Quinn (Washington Spirit) will be under Canadian federation contracts.

In all, 23 Americans and 11 Canadians will have their contracts underwritten by their federations. The maximum salary for non-federation players in 2017 was $41,700.

Quinn, drafted out of Duke, is the only college draft pick to be allocated. Draft picks Savannah McCaskill (Sky Blue FC) and Andi Sullivan (Washington) are among three U.S. national team players in the NWSL not on federation contracts. The other is Sofia Huerta (Chicago Red Stars).

No longer considered allocated players are Orlando's Sydney Leroux and Ali Krieger and Portland's Meghan Klingenberg. All played on the 2015 U.S. Women's World Cup team.

Allocated players:
Chicago Red Stars
Julie Ertz (USA)
Alyssa Naeher (USA)
Casey Short (USA)

Houston Dash
Jane Campbell (USA)
Christen Press (USA)
Nichelle Prince (CAN)

North Carolina Courage
Allysha Chapman (CAN)
Sabrina D'Angelo (CAN)
Abby Dahlkemper (USA)
Crystal Dunn (USA)
Samantha Mewis (USA)
Lynn Williams (USA)

Orlando Pride
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Shelina Zadorksy (CAN)

Portland Thorns
Tobin Heath (USA)
Lindsey Horan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Emily Sonnett (USA)

Seattle Reign
Allie Long (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Sky Blue FC
Janine Beckie (CAN)
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Kailen Sheridan (CAN)

Utah Royals
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Kelley O'Hara (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)

Washington Spirit
Rose Lavelle (USA)
Mallory Pugh (USA)
Rebecca Quinn (CAN)
Taylor Smith (USA)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications