Youth: U.S. U-17 boys to face LA Galaxy and Tijuana Xolos

Coach John Hackworth  has named a 24-player U.S. U-17 boys roster for a camp Feb. 24-March 4 in Chula Vista, California, that will include games  against older age group teams from the Los Angeles Galaxy and Tijuana Xolos academies.

Hackworth's team, which is in the early part of preparations for 2019 U-17 World Cup qualifying, is comprised of players born in 2002 or later. It will face a Galaxy team of 2000s and 2001s and a Tijuana team of 2000s, 2001s and 2002s.

“This camp allows us the opportunity to continue to teach our objectives as we build this pool of players,” Hackworth said. “We will be focused on providing these young men with a quality training environment and games against older players that will challenge them to execute our principles of play.”

The U.S. roster includes one foreign-based player: Michael Baragan of Mexico's Atlas FC’s youth program.

U.S. U-17 boys national team
GOALKEEPERS (4): Aaron Cervantes (Pateadores; Chino Hills, Calif.), John Tyler Harms (Shattuck- Saint Mary's; Whitefish Bay, Wisc.), Damian Las (Chicago Fire; Chicago, Ill.), Marzuq Puckerin (FC Greater Boston Bolts; Cambridge, Mass.).
DEFENDERS (8): Axel Alejandre (FC United; Chicago, Ill.), Michael Barragan (Atlas FC; Guadalajara, Mexico), Amir Daley (New York Red Bulls; Elmont, N.Y.), Tayvon Gray (New York City FC; Bronx, N.Y.), Owen Guske (Portland Timbers; Saint Johns, Fla.), Kobe Hernandez (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Mason Judge (Chargers Soccer Club, Tampa, Fla.), John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls, Chatham, N.J.).
MIDFIELDERS (6): Joshua Atencio (Seattle Sounders; Bellevue, Wash.), Luis Flores (Shattuck- Saint Mary's; Half Moon Bay, Calif.), Gilbert Fuentes (San Jose Earthquakes, Tracy Calif.), Benjamin Redzic (FC Dallas; Carrollton, Texas), Adam Saldana (Real So Cal; Panorama City, Calif.), Peter Stroud (New York Red Bulls; Chester, N.J.).
FORWARDS (6): Julian Gaines (Lonestar Soccer Club; Austin, Texas), Andres Jasson (New York City FC; Greenwich, Conn.), Diego Lopez (Atlanta United FC; Chino, Calif.), Daniel Mangarov (Atlanta United FC; Duluth, Ga.), Giovanni Reyna (New York City FC; Bedford Corners, N.Y.), Ray Serrano (Seattle Sounders FC; Graham, Wash.).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications