Friedel is among first-time nominees for National Soccer Hall of Fame

Brad Friedel, who was in goal when the USA reached the quarterfinals of the 2002 World Cup, is among the players in their first year of eligibility for the 2018 National Soccer Hall of Fame elections.

The 2018 induction ceremonies will take place on Oct. 20 during the grand opening of the National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.

Other first-time nominees include former captain Carlos Bocanegra, Bobby Convey, Jay DeMerit, Stuart Holden and Eddie Johnson from the men's national team, Lori Lindsey from the women's national team and former MLS stars Juan Pablo Angel and Thierry Henry.

Criteria. To be eligible in the player category, an individual must have been retired for at least three full years, but for no more than 10 full calendar years, and be ...

-- A player with at least 20 U.S. caps (10 if the games were prior to 1990).
-- A player with at least five seasons in a U.S. first-division pro league and one postseason league all-star selection; or
-- A player with at least five seasons in the MISL from 1984 to 1992 and one postseason league all-star selection.

Voters. All past and present men's and women's full National team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest professional level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS commissioner and NWSL executive director, U.S. Soccer secretary general, U.S. Soccer president, designated media members and all Hall of Famers.

Selection. Each voter can select up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be dropped from consideration until they qualify for the Veteran ballot.

2018 Player Ballot
Juan Pablo Angel*
David Beckham
Gregg Berhalter
Carlos Bocanegra*
Steve Cherundolo
Brian Ching
Bobby Convey*
Jeff Cunningham
Jay DeMerit*
Brad Friedel*
Kevin Hartman
Frankie Hejduk
Thierry Henry*
Stuart Holden*
Eddie Johnson*
Chris Klein
Eddie Lewis
Lori Lindsey*
Kate Sobrero Markgraf
Pablo Mastroeni
Clint Mathis
Tiffeny Milbrett
Heather Mitts
Jaime Moreno
Ben Olsen
Pat Onstad
Steve Ralston
Ante Razov**
Tony Sanneh
Taylor Twellman
Aly Wagner
Josh Wolff
*First year of eligibility
**Final year of eligibility

Voting will also open for the Veteran and Builder candidates.

2018 Veteran Ballot

Mike Burns
Kevin Crow
John Doyle
Marco Etcheverry
Linda Hamilton
Shep Messing
Cindy Parlow
Tiffany Roberts
Tisha Venturini-Hoch

2018 Builder Ballot
Esse Baharmast
Dr. Robert Contiguglia
Joe Cummings
Tim Leiweke
Francisco Marcos
Kevin Payne
Steve Sampson

Selection. The top vote-getter will be elected in each of the categories as long as he or she appears on a minimum of 50 percent of the ballots. If no individual appears on 50 percent of the ballots, then no person in that category will be elected. More than one candidate may be elected in the event of a tie.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications