Juventus will play MLS all-stars in Atlanta

Juventus, winner of the last six Scudetti as Serie A champion and a perennial UEFA Champions League contender, will the opposition for the MLS all-stars in the 2018 MLS All-Star Game.

Venue. The match will be played Aug. 1 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta.
Juventus' current squad includes the likes of Argentines Paulo Dybala and Gonzalo Higuain, Italians Gianluigi Buffon (who is expected to retire in May) and Giorgio Chiellini and Miralem Pjanic.

With the All-Star Game less than three weeks after the World Cup final, the participation of players who played in the World Cup is to be determined. (Of the five players mentioned, Higuain is likely to go to Russia.)

La Vecchia Segnora ("Old Lady") will be only the second Italian team to play in the MLS All-Star Game after Roma in 2013.
“We are happy to represent European football in this year’s MLS All-Star Game,” said Juventus president Andrea Agnelli in a statement. “It’s an opportunity to get closer to the passionate American soccer fans. For many years, Juventus has considered the United States and Canada as a crucial market for growing our presence as shown by the opening of our new academies and our digital strategy that has greatly expanded the possibility to connect with fans on this continent. The first team and the game, however, will be the main show that Juventus offers and we are proud to be in Atlanta.”

Tata news. Atlanta United head coach Gerardo “Tata” Martino will coach the MLS all-stars.

MLS all-stars vs. foreign opposition (8-4-2):
2003: MLS 3, Guadalajara 1 (Carson, Calif.)
2005: MLS 4, Fulham 1 (Columbus, Ohio)
2006: MLS 1, Chelsea 0 (Bridgeview, Ill.)
2007: MLS 2, Celtic 0 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2008: MLS 3, West Ham United FC 2 (Toronto, Ont.)
2009: MLS 1, Everton FC 1 (Everton 4-3 on penalties) (Sandy, Utah)
2010: Manchester United 5, MLS 2 (Houston, Texas)
2011: Manchester United 4, MLS 0 (Harrison, N.J.)
2012: MLS 3, Chelsea 2 (Chester, Pa.)
2013: Roma 3, MLS 1 (Kansas City, Kan.)
2014: MLS 2, Bayern Munich 1 (Portland, Ore.)
2015: MLS 2, Tottenham 1 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2016: Arsenal 2, MLS 1 (San Jose, Calif.)
2017: MLS 1, Real Madrid 1 (Real Madrid 4-2  on penalties) (Chicago, Ill.)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications