Roster: U.S. U-16 boys to face Italy, Libya and Croatia

Coach Shaun Tsakiris  has named a 20-player U.S. U-16 national team squad for the Torneo delle Nazioni in Italy at which his team will face Italy (April 24), Libya (April 26) and Croatia (April 27) in Group A.

The four group winners will advance to the April 29 semifinals. The final is on May 1.

“Any time you have the opportunity to face international competition, we look forward to it because this is the standard and the benchmark that we want to hold our players to,” Tsakiris said. “This will be a great test for our players. What I like about this tournament is that the teams we are facing are not only very good opponents, but they are also very different opponents, in their style, who they are and how they play. I'm excited to see how our players respond to different types of international talent.”

Also competing at the Torneo delle Nazioni: Czech Republic, England, Japan, United Arab Emirates (Group B); Mexico, Romania, Russia, Slovenia (Group C); Austria, Costa Rica, Norway, Portugal (Group D).

Goalkeeper Eliot Jones of the New England Revolution academy is the lone U.S. U-16 newcomer on the roster.

The USA is the Torneo delle Nazioni defending champion. Led by coach Dave van den Bergh, in 2017 the U.S. U-15s beat England 2-1 in the final on goals by Joseph Scally and Giovanni Reyna.

U-16 boys national team
GOALKEEPERS (3): Gavin Krenecki (Sacramento Republic academy; Fair Oaks, Calif.); Eliot Jones (New England Revolution academy; New Britain, Conn.).
DEFENDERS (7): Adrian Aguilar (LA Galaxy academy; Los Angeles, Calif.) Israel Carrillo (San Jose Earthquakes academy; San Jose, Calif.), Mauricio Cuevas (LA Galaxy academy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Eric Kinzner (Seattle Sounders academy; Tacoma, Wash.), Anton Sorenson (Crew SC Academy Wolves; Ann Arbor, Mich.), Kobey Stoup (Atlanta United academy; Montgomery, Ala.), Casey Walls (San Jose Earthquakes academy; Mill Valley, Calif.).
MIDFIELDERS (5): Javier Casas Jr. (Chicago Fire academy; Addison, Ill.), Daniel Leyva (Seattle Sounders academy; Seattle, Wash.), Jack McGlynn (BW Gottschee; Middle Village, N.Y.), Alex Monis (Chicago Fire academy; Naperville, Ill.), Edwin Villarreal (FC Dallas academy; El Paso, Texas).
FORWARDS (6): Patrick Bohui (Philadelphia Union academy; Philadelphia, Pa.), Tyler Freeman (Sporting KC academy; Shawnee, Kan.), Selmir Miscic (Philadelphia Union academy; Royersford, Pa.), Dante Sealy (FC Dallas academy; Frisco, Texas), Dantouma Toure (PDA; Trenton, N.J.), Dominic Vegaalban (Sacramento Republic academy; Rocklin, Calif.).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications