World Cup Countdown: LAFC's Laurent Ciman on Belgium short list

LAFC defender Laurent Ciman was named the Belgium's preliminary World Cup squad of 28 players.

Ciman, who was traded from Montreal to LAFC after three seasons in MLS, 19 appearances for The Red Devils. He went to the 2014 World Cup but did not play.

Ciman's inclusion raises to 24 the number of MLS players on World Cup squads or preliminary rosters. He is the fifth player from LAFC to be called up -- the most of any MLS team.

Belgium (28-player short list):
Laurent Ciman (LAFC)

Costa Rica (23-player roster):
Francisco Calvo (Minnesota United)
David Guzman (Portland Timbers)
Ronald Matarrita (NYCFC)
Marco Urena (LAFC)
Rodney Wallace (NYCFC)
Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Egypt (29-player short list):
Omar Gaber (LAFC)
Amro Tarek (Orlando City)

Iran (35-player preliminary roster):
Steven Beitashour (LAFC)

Mexico (28-player short list):
Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy)
Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy)
Carlos Vela (LAFC)

Panama (35-player preliminary roster):
Harold Cummings (San Jose Earthquakes)
Fidel Escobar (NY Red Bulls)
Anibal Godoy (San Jose Earthquakes)
Adolfo Machado (Houston Dynamo)
Cristian Martinez (Columbus Crew)
Michael Murillo (NY Red Bulls)
Roman Torres (Seattle Sounders)

Peru (35-player preliminary roster):
Andy Polo (Portland Timbers)
Yoshi Yotun (Orlando City)

Sweden (23-player roster):
Gustav Svensson (Seattle Sounders)

Uruguay (26-player short list):
Nicolas Lodeiro (Seattle Sounders)

The major omission from Belgian coach Roberto Martinez's preliminary roster was Roma star Radja Nainggolan, who immediately took to Instagram to announced his retirement from the national team after Martinez traveled to Italy to give him the news he was taking him to Russia.

Belgium (28 players):
GOALKEEPERS: Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/ENG), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool/ENG), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg/GER), Matz Sels (Newcastle United/ENG).
DEFENDERS: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham/ENG), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic/SCO), Laurent Ciman (LAFC), Leander Dendoncker (Anderlecht), Christian Kabasele (Watford/ENG), Vincent Kompany (Man. City/ENG), Jordan Lukaku (Lazio/ITA), Thomas Meunier (Paris SG), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham/ENG).
MIDFIELDERS: Yannick Carrasco (Dalian Yifang/CHN), Nacer Chadli (West Bromwich/ENG), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/ENG), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham/ENG), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United/ENG), Adnan Januzaj (Real Sociedad/ESP), Youri Tielemans (Monaco/FRA), Axel Witsel (Tianjin Quanjian/CHN).
FORWARDS: Michy Batshuayi (Chelsea/ENG), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace/ENG), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/ENG), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Moenchengladbach/GER), Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United/ENG), Dries Mertens (Napoli/ITA).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications