Lopetegui gives six World Cup 2010 champions another chance with Spain

Playmaker Andres Iniesta and captain Sergio Ramos were picked for their fourth World Cup and four others players were selected from the 2010 world championship team for Spain's 2018 World Cup roster, but La Roja's chances will probably depend on the talented young players Coach Julen Lopetegui named his 23-man squad on Monday.

The team includes Isco, Marco Asensio, Nacho Fernandez, Dani Carvajal and Lucas Vazquez in addition to Ramos from UEFA Champions League finalist Real Madrid.

Other holdovers from 2010 are goalkeeper Pepe Reina, defender Gerard Pique and midfielders Sergio Busquets and David Silva.

NYCFC's David Villa, another member of the 2010 team, was not picked, leaving the battle for Spain's starting job up front to Diego Costa, Iago Aspas and Rodrigo Moreno. Villa, who earned the last of 98 caps last September, was considered a longshot to make the team --

Spain (23 players):
GOALKEEPERS: David de Gea (Man. United/ENG), Pepe Reina (Napoli/ITA), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao).
DEFENDERS:  Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal/ENG), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Nacho Fernandez (Real Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea/ENG).
MIDFIELDERS: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich/GER), David Silva (Man. City/ENG), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid).
FORWARDS: Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Rodrigo Moreno (Valencia), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications