MLS: 1999 Awards

Individual Awards

Honda MVP: Jason Kreis (Dallas). Kreis, the first American-born player to garner Honda MVP honors in the league's four seasons, also captured the league's scoring title with 18 goals and 15 assists for 51 points. The Duke University product led the Burn to a club-best 19-13 finish (second in the Western Conference) and an appearance in the Western Conference finals. Kreis, the Burn's all-time leading scorer with 48 goals and 34 assists, enjoyed his most prosperous season in four years with the Burn. Besides winning the league scoring title, he set the standard in becoming the first player in league history to garner 15 goals and 15 assists in a single season and was only the fourth player ever to amass more than 50 points in a season (joining Roy Lassiter -- 1996, Stern John and Cobi Jones -- 1998). In helping the Burn to their best record in team history, Kreis set several team records along the way, including most points (51), most goals (18) and most assists (15). He also registered a team-record seven game-winning assists, five multiple-goal games and also tied his own team record for most game-winning goals in a season with six. BIC Defender of the Year: Robin Fraser (Los Angeles). Fraser, who won the Galaxy's team BIC honor in each of the last three seasons, captained Los Angeles' record-setting defense that allowed less than a goal per game (29 goals in 32 games for a 0.91 average, the lowest in league history). Pepsi Goalkeeper of the Year: Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles). Hartman became the first goalie to record back-to-back 20-win seasons, set a league record with 11 shutouts and allowed less than a goal per game (his goals against average was 0.91) while playing all but 10 minutes of the 1999 season. All Sport Coach of the Year: Sigi Schmid (Los Angeles). Schmid captured the 1999 award after leading the Galaxy to a 17-9 record and overtaking Colorado, Dallas and Chicago in the Western Conference race. Rookie of the Year: Jay Heaps (Miami). The Fusion defender led all rookies with 29 games played and 2,511 minutes. The 1998 MAC Award winner scored three goals and added one assist in 1999 and was the league's No. 2 overall draft pick out of Duke University. MasterCard Goal of the Year: Marco Etcheverry (D.C. United). Etcheverry captured the award after his 50-yard rising rope beat Fusion keeper Jeff Cassar from midfield in the 90th minute of D.C.'s 3-1 victory at Lockhart Stadium on May 22. Snickers Fair Play Awards: Steve Ralston (Tampa Bay) and the Columbus Crew. The Fair Play award consists of two honors, one for the individual player regarded as the league's best sportsman, with a separate honor for the team which accrues a league low in caution points during the regular season. Ralston, the 1999 league assist leader with 18, captured the honor after receiving no yellow or red cards in 32 games, while the Crew amassed just 157 caution points over 32 games and became the first team ever to go an entire season without a red card. Referee of the Year: Paul Tamberino. For the second consecutive season, Tamberino was honored. The honor is awarded to the referee whose performance throughout the season is judged the best overall by MLS coaching staffs. Tamberino, a FIFA-accredited linesman, is a four-year and 46-game veteran of MLS officiating.

All-League Teams

1999 AT&T Best 11: Strikers -- Jason Kreis (Dallas), Jaime Moreno (D.C. United). Midfielders -- Mauricio Cienfuegos (Los Angeles), Marco Etcheverry (D.C. United), Steve Ralston (Tampa Bay), Eddie Lewis (San Jose), Chris Armas (Chicago). Defenders -- Robin Fraser (Los Angeles), Lubos Kubik (Chicago), Jeff Agoos (D.C. United). Goalkeeper -- Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles). 1998 AT&T Best 11 Strikers -- Stern John, Cobi Jones. Midfielders -- Marco Etcheverry, Peter Nowak, Mauricio Cienfuegos, Chris Armas. Defenders -- Lubos Kubik, Eddie Pope, Thomas Dooley, Robin Fraser. Goalkeeper -- Zach Thornton. 1997 AT&T Best 11 Strikers -- Jaime Moreno, Ronald Cerritos Midfielders -- Preki, Marco Etcheverry, Mark Chung, Carlos Valderrama. Defenders -- Eddie Pope, Richard Gough, Jeff Agoos, Thomas Dooley. Goalkeeper -- Brad Friedel. 1996 AT&T Best 11 Strikers -- Roy Lassiter, Eduardo Hurtado. Midfielders -- Carlos Valderrama, Roberto Donadoni, Mauricio Cienfuegos, Preki, Marco Etcheverry. Defenders -- Leonel Alvarez, John Doyle, Robin Fraser. Goalkeeper -- Mark Dodd.

Front-Office and Other Awards

Executive of the Year: Nick Sakiewicz (Tampa Bay). Marketing Executive of the Year -- Jamey Rootes (Columbus). P.R. Executive of the Year: Adam Low (Chicago). Operations Executive of the Year -- Eddie Rockwell (Columbus). Team Tickeing Sales Award: D.C. United. Commissioner's Award: Alexi Lalas. "Custodian of the Dream" Award: Doug Logan.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications