Tournament of Nations: Australia calls up 11 NWSL players, 16-year-old Sayer

Australia, which has qualified for the 2019 Women's World Cup, called up 11 NWSL players, for its title defense of the four-team Tournament of Nations, which begins next Thursday in Kansas City.

Thursday, July 26
Brazil vs. Australia (4:15 pm ET)
USA vs. Japan (7 pm ET, FS1)
(Venue: Kansas City, Kan.)
Sunday, July 29
Brazil vs. Japan (4:15 pm ET)
USA vs. Australia (7 pm ET, FS1)
(Venue: East Hartford, Conn.)
Thursday, Aug. 2
Australia vs. Japan (5:45 pm ET)
USA vs. Brazil (7:30 pm ET, FS1).
(Venue: Bridgeview, Ill.)

Sam Kerr, the 2017 NWSL MVP now with the Chicago Red Stars, heads the squad. Included in the team is Caitlin Foord, who was acquired by the Portland Thorns in the offseason but has not played yet due to a foot injury suffered at the beginning of the year.

Coach Alen Stajcic called up 16-year-old Amy Sayer, who has yet to play for the Socceroos. She played for Canberra United in the 2017-18 W-League.

Australia Roster:
Mackenzie Arnold (Arna-Bjornar, Norway)
Lydia Williams (Seattle Reign)
Ellie Carpenter (Portland Thorns)
Steph Catley (Seattle Reign)
Alanna Kennedy (Orlando Pride)
Clare Polkinghorne (Houston Dash)
Tameka Butt (Klepp, Norway)
Alex Chidiac (Atletico Madrid, Spain)
Caitlin Foord (Portland Thorns)
Katrina Gorry (Utah Royals)
Elise Kellond-Knight (Hammarby IF, Sweden)
Chloe Logarzo (Blacktown Spartans)
Amy Sayer (North Shore Mariners)
Emily van Egmond (Orlando Pride)
Larissa Crummer (unattached)
Lisa De Vanna (South Melbourne FC)
Emily Gielnik (Brisbane Roar)
Hayley Raso (Portland Thorns)
Samantha Kerr (Chicago Red Star)
Kyah Simon (Houston Dash)
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications