NPSL: FC Motown and Miami FC 2 move into championship game

FC Motown and Miami FC 2 -- two clubs with completely different backgrounds -- will face off next Saturday for the 2018 NPSL championship.

FC Motown, which began as a co-ed team in New Jersey eight years ago, beat FCM Portland, 2-1, in overtime to move into the final it will host at Drew University in Madison, New Jersey.

Miami FC 2, which has a nucleus of players from 2017 NASL spring and fall champion Miami FC, ended Duluth FC's season with a 3-0 win at St. Thomas University.

Sub David Nigro scored on a header in the 120th minute  to give FC Motown the victory before more than 500 fans at Drew. Former MLS player Dilly Duka gave FC Motown the lead in the 55th minute but FCM Portland responded with a goal from Nick Evans eight minutes later.

Midfielder Ariel Martinez scored on a penalty kick in the 35th minute, but Miami FC didn't put away Duluth FC until the last 15 minutes of the second half when Sean McFarlane and Jeff Michaud scored.

Miami FC 2 started three 2017 NASL Best XI picks -- Daniel Vega, Mason Trafford and Dylan Mares -- and would have had more goals but for Jan Hoffelner, who was spectacular in the Duluth FC goal with 10 saves. The German will play at Presbyterian in 2018 after attending JC power Iowa Western as a freshman.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications