TV: ESPN+ adds leagues in three more countries

ESPN+,  ESPN's pay streaming service, reached multi-year media agreements with three more leagues – Australia’s Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League, the Chinese Super League and the Dutch Eredivisie.

That's more than 300 more matches per season that ESPN+ will air:

-- Australia: 140 A-League matches October through April, at least 17 W-League (women’s league) matches October through February, plus one FFA Cup match per round.
-- China: 60 Super League matches from March through November.
-- Netherlands: 102 Eredivisie regular-season matches (three per week) from August through May.

ESPN+ already carries MLS, the USL and college games as well as the English League Championship and new UEFA Nations League and recently added Italy's Serie A.

“This agreement further boosts the position of ESPN+ as the leading new platform for live soccer matches in the U.S.,” said Burke Magnus, ESPN's executive vice president, programming and scheduling. “These leagues join a lineup of hundreds of top-division live matches from Europe and North America, along with a strong lineup of original and studio soccer programming.”

ESPN+ launched in April for $4.99 a month (or $49.99 per year).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications