Youth: Caribbean foes await USA in U-20 World Cup qualifying

The USA could play as many as eight games in its quest to qualify for the 2019 U-20 World Cup, beginning with Group A matches against five Caribbean teams at the Concacaf U-20 Championship hosted by IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida (Nov. 1-21).

2018 Concacaf U-20 Championship (USA Schedule)
Thursday, Nov. 1
USA vs. Puerto Rico 7:30 p.m. ET
Saturday, Nov. 3
USA vs. U.S. Virgin Islands 7:45 p.m. ET
Monday, Nov. 5
USA vs. Trinidad & Tobago 7:45 p.m. ET
Wednesday, Nov. 7
USA vs. Saint Vincent & the Grenadines 7:45 p.m. ET
Friday, Nov. 9
USA vs. Suriname 5:30 p.m. ET

The six group winners will advance to the qualification stage, which will consist of two three-team groups. The two group winners plus the second-place finishers will qualify for the 2019 U-20 World Cup in Poland (May 25-June 16).

The two qualification stage groups winners will advance to the tournament’s final to determine the regional champion.

2018 Concacaf U-20 Championship Groups
Group A
USA, Trinidad & Tobago, Suriname, Puerto Rico, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, U.S. Virgin Islands
Group B
Mexico, Jamaica, Aruba, Nicaragua, Grenada, Saint Martin
Group C
Honduras, Cuba, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominican Republic, Belize, Sint Maarten
Group D
Panama, Canada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique
Group E
Costa Rica, Haiti, Bermuda, St. Lucia, Barbados
Group F
El Salvador, Guatemala, Curacao, Guyana, Cayman Islands

The USA enters as defending U-20 Concacaf champion. It is aiming to qualify for the biennial world championship for the fourth straight time -- all with Tab Ramos as head coach -- having last failed to qualify in 2011, with Thomas Rongen at the helm.

USA U-20 World Cup History
1977 Tunisia (did not qualify)
1979 Japan (did not qualify)
1981 Australia
Coach Walter Chyzowych (15th place/16 teams)
1983 Mexico
Coach Angus McAlpine (11th place/16)
1985 Soviet Union
(did not qualify)
1987 Chile
Coach Derek Armstrong (11th place/16)
1989 Saudi Arabia
Coach Bob Gansler (4th place/16)
1991 Portugal
(did not qualify)
1993 Australia
Coach Bobby Howe (8th place/16)
1995 Qatar
(did not qualify)
1997 Malaysia
Coach Jay Hoffmann (15th place/16)
1999 Nigeria
Coach Sigi Schmid (11th place/24 teams)
2001 Argentina
Coach Wolfgang Suhnholz (13th place/24)
2003 UAE
Coach Thomas Rongen (5th place/24)
2005 Netherlands
Coach Sigi Schmid (11th/24)
2007 Canada
Coach Thomas Rongen (7th/24)
2009 Egypt
Coach Thomas Rongen (17th/24)
2011 Colombia
(did not qualify)
2013 Turkey
Coach Tab Ramos (17th/24)
2015 New Zealand
Coach Tab Ramos (7th/24)
2017 South Korea
Coach Tab Ramos (6/24)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications