Best XI: Courage and Thorns dominate 2018 all-NWSL team

The NWSL's finalists -- the Shield winner North Carolina Courage and host Portland Thorns -- led all teams with four selections each on the Best XI for the 2018 season.

Utah defender Becky Sauerbrunn earned her sixth straight selection to the squad. Four other players -- Chicago forward Sam Kerr, North Carolina's Abby Dahlkemper and McCall Zerboni and Portland goalkeeper Adrianna Franch -- repeated as selections from the 2017 Best XI.

Goalkeeper Adrianna Franch, Portland
Defenders Emily Sonnett, Portland
-- Becky Sauerbrunn, Utah
-- Abby Erceg, NC Courage
-- Abby Dahlkemper, NC Courage
Midfielders Tobin Heath, Portland
-- Lindsey Horan, Portland
-- McCall Zerboni, NC Courage
Forwards Crystal Dunn, NC Courage
-- Sam Kerr, Chicago
-- Megan Rapinoe, Seattle

NWSL Second XI:
Goalkeeper Lydia Williams, Seattle
 Defenders Merritt Mathias, NC Courage
-- Julie Ertz, Chicago
-- Emily Menges, Portland
-- Steph Catley, Seattle
Midfielders Debinha, NC Courage
-- Carli Lloyd, Sky Blue FC
-- Christine Sinclair, Portland
Forwards Lynn Williams, NC Courage
-- Rachel Daly, Houston
-- Sofia Huerta, Houston
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications