JP Dellacamera named 2018 Colin Jose Media Award recipient

JP Dellacamera, who has called the Women's World Cup finals the USA won in 1999 and 2015 and the USA's 1-0 win at Trinidad & Tobago that qualified it for the 1990 World Cup, is the 2018 recipient of the Colin Jose Media Award, the National Soccer Hall of Fame's media award.

SA Confidential: JP Dellacamera (May 8, 2018)

Dellacamera will be honored at the Hall of Fame's 2018 induction ceremony on Oct. 20 at the opening of the new National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas.

In all, Dellacamera has called nine consecutive men's World Cups on television or radio -- he worked for Fox Sports in Russia
alongside Tony Meola -- and five Women's World Cups. He was also on the broadcast teams for the 2004, 2008 and 2012 Olympic Games for NBC Sports.

Dellacamera has called MLS games since the inaugural season in 1996, working as the play-by-player announcer for the Columbus Crew, New York Red Bulls and currently the Philadelphia Union.

"I am so honored and humbled to receive the Colin Jose Media Award, joining such a distinguished list of past winners," he said. "It is great to see the National Soccer Hall of Fame recognize those outside of the playing and coaching fields, as they pay tribute to others who have made significant contributions to the game."

Dellacamera's work in soccer dates back to the late 1970s with the old NASL's Detroit Express and ASL's Pennsylvania Stoners. His career took off calling indoor soccer matches during the 1980s.

"Calling soccer games has not only been a passion of mine for so many years, but it's also a labor of love," Dellacamera said. "I have been fortunate in being able to call so many big games and big goals over the past few decades. Hopefully, I will get to call more in the years ahead."

Past Colin Jose Media Award Recipients
2017 - Jim Trecker, Media Relations
2016 - Paul Kennedy, Soccer America
2013 - George Vecsey, New York Times
2012 - Grahame Jones, Los Angeles Times
2010 - Paul Gardner, Soccer America
2009 - Alex Yannis, New York Times
2008 - Ike Kuhns, Newark Star-Ledger
2007 - George Tiedemann, Sports Illustrated/Freelance
2005 - Seamus Malin, ESPN and other television broadcasters
2004 - Jerry Trecker, Hartford Couran



Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications