USA roster named for men's U-20 World Cup qualifying tournament

Coach Tab Ramos  has named his 20-player roster for 2018 Concacaf U-20 Championship in Bradenton, Florida (Nov. 1-21) from which four teams will qualify for the 2019 U-20 World Cup in Poland (May 23-June 15).

The new qualifying format, which removed the regional Central American and Caribbean qualifiers, created a 34-team tournament and the USA could play as many as eight games. Teams that advance to the qualification stage by winning their group may replace up to six players on their roster. Concacaf has not made public the list of 35 players from which teams can chose replacements.

2018 Concacaf U-20 Championship Roster:
Brady Scott (FC Cologne II/GER; Petaluma, Calif.)
CJ Dos Santos (Benfica U-19/POR; Philadelphia, Pa.)
Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting KC; Charlotte, N.C.)
Chris Gloster (Hannover 96/GER; South Orange, N.J.)
Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; Bear, Del.)
Matthew Real (Philadelphia Union; Drexel Hill, Pa.)
Manny Perez (N.C. State; Garner, N.C.)
Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy academy; Lompac, Calif.)
Sam Rogers (Sounders FC 2; Seattle, Wash.)
Brandon Servania (FC Dallas; Birmingham, Ala.)
Juan Pablo Torres (Lokeren/BEL; Lilburn, Ga.)
Alex Mendez (SC Freiburg/GER; Los Angeles, Calif.)
Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas; Highland Village, Tex.)
Anthony Fontana (Philadelphia Union; Newark, Del.)
Isaac Angking (New England Revolution; Providence, R.I.)
Justin Rennicks (Indiana Univ.; Hamilton, Mass.)
*Ulysses Llanez (Unattached; Lynwood, Calif.)
Griffin Dorsey (Indiana Univ.; Evergreen, Colo.)
Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC; Detroit, Mich.)
Frankie Amaya (UCLA; Santa Ana, Calif.)
*Will sign with Wolfsburg (Germany) when he turns 18 in 2019.

While U-20 eligible players who have already established themselves with the full national team -- Josh SargentTyler Adams and Tim Weah -- are unlikely to join Ramos' team -- the national team plays at England Nov. 15 and against Italy  Nov. 20 -- U-20 MLS players possibly called in for the qualification stage, depending on their playoff situation, include Atlanta United’s Andrew Carleton and D.C. United’s Chris Durkin.

Foreign-based U-20s not on the initial roster include Chris Richards (on loan to Bayern Munich's U-19s from FC Dallas), Sebastian Soto (Hannover U-19s), Sergino Dest (Jong Ajax) and Jonathan Amon (FC Nordsjaelland). Amon made his full national team debut while starting in the USA's 1-1 tie with Peru Oct. 16.

•  The roster is comprised of 10 19-year-olds, eight 18-year-olds and 17-year-olds, Araujo and Llanez, who are also eligible for the 2021 U-20 World Cup.

“I’m looking forward to this U-20 World Cup qualifying challenge,” Ramos said. “This new format provides opportunities to many nations and makes the qualifying process much more difficult. Although our preparation will be short, we will be ready to defend our first-ever Concacaf title.”

U.S. coach Tab Ramos

2018 Concacaf U-20 Championship (USA Schedule)
Thursday, Nov. 1
USA vs. Puerto Rico 7:30 p.m. ET
Saturday, Nov. 3
USA vs. U.S. Virgin Islands 7:45 p.m. ET
Monday, Nov. 5
USA vs. Trinidad & Tobago 7:45 p.m. ET
Wednesday, Nov. 7
USA vs. Saint Vincent & the Grenadines 7:45 p.m. ET
Friday, Nov. 9
USA vs. Suriname 5:30 p.m. ET

The six group winners will advance to the qualification stage, which will consist of two three-team groups. The two group winners plus the second-place finishers will qualify for the 2019 U-20 World Cup in Poland (May 25-June 16). The two qualification stage groups winners will advance to the tournament’s final to determine the regional champion.

2018 Concacaf U-20 Championship Groups
Group A
USA, Trinidad & Tobago, Suriname, Puerto Rico, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, U.S. Virgin Islands
Group B
Mexico, Jamaica, Aruba, Nicaragua, Grenada, Saint Martin
Group C
Honduras, Cuba, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominican Republic, Belize, Sint Maarten
Group D
Panama, Canada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique
Group E
Costa Rica, Haiti, Bermuda, St. Lucia, Barbados
Group F
El Salvador, Guatemala, Curacao, Guyana, Cayman Islands

The USA enters as defending U-20 Concacaf champion. It is aiming to qualify for the biennial world championship for the fourth straight time -- all with Tab Ramos as head coach -- having last failed to qualify in 2011, with Thomas Rongen at the helm.

USA U-20 World Cup History
1977 Tunisia (did not qualify)
1979 Japan (did not qualify)
1981 Australia
Coach Walter Chyzowych (15th place/16 teams)
1983 Mexico
Coach Angus McAlpine (11th place/16)
1985 Soviet Union
(did not qualify)
1987 Chile
Coach Derek Armstrong (11th place/16)
1989 Saudi Arabia
Coach Bob Gansler (4th place/16)
1991 Portugal
(did not qualify)
1993 Australia
Coach Bobby Howe (8th place/16)
1995 Qatar
(did not qualify)
1997 Malaysia
Coach Jay Hoffmann (15th place/16)
1999 Nigeria
Coach Sigi Schmid (11th place/24 teams)
2001 Argentina
Coach Wolfgang Suhnholz (13th place/24)
2003 UAE
Coach Thomas Rongen (5th place/24)
2005 Netherlands
Coach Sigi Schmid (11th place/24)
2007 Canada
Coach Thomas Rongen (7th place/24)
2009 Egypt
Coach Thomas Rongen (17th place/24)
2011 Colombia
(did not qualify)
2013 Turkey
Coach Tab Ramos (17th place/24)
2015 New Zealand
Coach Tab Ramos (7th place/24)
2017 South Korea
Coach Tab Ramos (6th place/24)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications