Aaron Long selected MLS Defender of the Year in second season as a starter

Aaron Long, who didn't crack the New York Red Bulls lineup until his fourth season as a pro, was named the 2018 MLS Defender of the Year in his second year as a starter.

The 26-year-old center back helped the Red Bulls win their third Supporters’ Shield in the last six years with a record 22 wins and 71 points. They had MLS's best defense, allowing only 33 goals in 34 games.

Long, who played in his first MLS All-Star Game in August and debuted for the USA in October, is part of MLS's best backline along with Kemar Lawrence, who finished fifth in Defender of the Year voting, Panamanian international Michael Murillo and Tim Parker, who was traded for the Vancouver at the beginning of the season and also played for the USA in 2018.

Long beat out Seattle's Chad Marshall, the Atlanta United pair of Michael Parkhurst and Leandro Gonzalez Pirez and Lawrence.
MLS Defender of the Year Winners:
2018: Aaron Long – New York Red Bulls
2017: Ike Opara – Sporting Kansas City
2016: Matt Hedges – FC Dallas
2015: Laurent Ciman – Montreal Impact
2014: Chad Marshall – Seattle Sounders
2013: Jose Goncalves – New England Revolution
2012: Matt Besler – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave – Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser – LA Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United
1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications