Crew's Gyasi Zardes named MLS Comeback Player of the Year

Gyasi Zardes,who scored a career-high 19 goals after being traded to the Columbus Crew from LA Galaxy, was named the 2018 MLS Comeback Player of the Year.

Zardes, 27, scored 34 goals in five seasons withe Galaxy but had just two in 2017 when the Galaxy fell into last place in the MLS standings.

In addition to his 19 goals -- he has added another in the MLS Playoffs -- Zardes had career-highs in 33 starts and minutes played (2,948).
Zardes beat out Zlatan Ibrahimovic (LA Galaxy), Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago) and Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC) for the award.
MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners:
2018: Gyasi Zardes – Columbus Crew SC
2017: Clint Dempsey – Seattle Sounders FC
2016: Chris Pontius – Philadelphia Union
2015: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
2014: Rodney Wallace – Portland Timbers
2013: Kevin Alston – New England Revolution
2012: Eddie Johnson – Seattle Sounders FC
2011: David Beckham – LA Galaxy
2010: Bobby Convey – San Jose Earthquakes
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Kenny Cooper – FC Dallas
2007: Eddie Johnson – Kansas City Wizards
2006: Richard Mulrooney – FC Dallas
2005: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Brian Ching – San Jose Earthquakes
2003: Chris Armas – Chicago Fire
2002: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2001: Troy Dayak – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1 comment about "Crew's Gyasi Zardes named MLS Comeback Player of the Year".
  1. beautiful game, November 8, 2018 at 10:10 a.m.

    The "comeback Player of the Year" was out to lunch against the NYRB last weekend. 

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications