Atlanta United's Tata Martino Named 2018 MLS Coach of the Year

Argentine Tata Martino, who built Atlanta United into an MLS powerhouse in its first two seasons in MLS, was named 2018 MLS Coach of the Year.

Martino, who previously coached Paraguay to the 2010 World Cup quarterfinals and Argentina to second place at the 2015 Copa America and 2016 Copa Centenario and coached one season at Barcelona, led the Five Stripes to second-place in the 2018 Supporters' Shield, losing by one point to the New York Red Bulls whom they'll meet in the Eastern Conference final.

Atlanta United and the Red Bulls set an MLS record with 22 wins in 2018. Atlanta's +26-goal-differential ranks second all-time in MLS and its 10 road wins and 32 road points are the most in the post-shootout era.

With the best record in MLS over the last two seasons, Atlanta United qualified for the 2019 Concacaf Champions League.

Martino won't be around for the regional championship, which will begin in the winter. Atlanta United announced late in the regular season he would not return in 2019 following the end of his two-year contract. He's considered the favorite to be named Mexico's national team coach.

Martino received 32.72 percent of the average vote, compiled from three groups: active players, media and club technical staff. His player support -- 46.92 percent -- was the difference in beating out Bob Bradley (LAFC), Peter Vermes (Sporting KC), Jim Curtin (Philadelphia) and Chris Armas (New York Red Bulls).

MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2018: Gerardo “Tata” Martino – Atlanta United
2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications