UEFA Nations League: What it all means

In a matter of less than three months, the group stage of the new UEFA Nations League is over.

The final four for the first UEFA Nations League finals has been determined. Portugal will host the semifinals, third-place game and final June 5-9 with Switzerland, England and the Netherlands also taking part from League A.

The group competition also served to seed teams for Euro 2020 qualifying. The top 10 teams in League A will be top seeds. Germany and Iceland, the bottom two teams, will be seeded into Pot 2. One wrinkle: The four League A group winners will play in the four five-team groups, allowing them to have byes in June when the other teams in the group begin Euro qualifying.

The two top teams in the 10 Euro 2020 qualifying groups will advance to the finals, leaving four spots up for grabs in playoffs. The four four-team knockout groups will be determined based on how teams did in the UEFA Nations League.

Each of the four leagues will send one team to Euro 2020, so teams from the lowest tier of Europe have a shot at one spot in the finals.

League A
Finalists: Switzerland, Portugal, England, Netherlands
Relegated: Germany, Iceland, Poland, Croatia

League B
Promoted: Ukraine, Russia, Denmark, Bosnia & Herzegovina
Relegated: Slovakia, Turkey, Northern Ireland, Ireland

League C
Promoted: Scotland, Finland, Norway, Serbia
Relegated: Estonia, Cyprus, Slovenia, Lithuania.

League D
Promoted: Georgia, Belarus, Kosovo, Macedonia
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications