Youth: Coach Keri Sarver takes charge of new U.S. U-20 women's team

A 20-player squad has been named for the first event of the new U.S. U-20 women's national team cycle. Keri Sarver, who has been serving as U.S. U-19 women's coach, heads the age group that had been under the charge of Jitka Klimkova.

During Klimkova's tenure, the U.S. U-20s finished second to Mexico in the Concacaf Championship and exited the 2018 U-20 World Cup at the group stage.

The current group is aiming for the 2020 U-20 World Cup, for which players born in 2000 or later are eligible. Sarver's squad, which will face France (Dec. 7) and China (Dec. 9) at the Nike Friendlies in Lakewood Ranch, Florida, is comprised of players born in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

The roster includes two players who were on the 2018 U-20 World Cup team: midfielder Brianna Pinto and forward Alexa Spaanstra.

U.S. U-20 women's national team
Claudia Dickey (Univ. of North Carolina; Charlotte, N.C.)
Hensley Hancuff (Villanova Univ.; Edmond, Okla.).
Abby Allen (Lonestar SC; Austin, Texas)
Maycee Bell (NC Courage Academy; Wichita, Kan.)
Tori Hansen (NC Courage Academy; Raleigh, N.C.)
Brianna Martinez (Univ. of Notre Dame; Albuquerque, N.M.)
Natalie Maurer (Richmond United; Glen Allen, Va.)
Elaine Rouse (NC Courage Academy; Cary, N.C.).
Megan Bornkamp (Charlotte Soccer Academy; Mooresville, N.C.)
Isabella Cook (Eclipse SC; Elmhurst, Ill.)
Coriana Dyke (Colorado Rush; Littleton, Colo.)
Emily Gray (Virginia Tech Univ.; Sewell, N.J.)
Brianna Pinto (Univ. of North Carolina; Durham, N.C.)
Sydney Simmons (Duke Univ.; Van Alstyne, Texas).
Jaelyn Eisenhart (LAFC Slammers; Henderson, Nev.)
Lia Godfrey (United Soccer Alliance; Fleming Island, Fla.)
Rebecca Jarrett (Univ. of Virginia; Washington Township, N.J.)
Samantha Kroeger (NYCFC; West Milford, N.J.)
Alexa Spaanstra (Univ. of Virginia; Brighton, Mich.)
Reilyn Turner (So Cal Blues; Aliso Viejo, Calif.).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications