MLS releases 2019 Combine list amid changing priorities

MLS announced the initial list of players selected to the annual adidas Combine, which will take place in  Orlando Jan. 3-9.

The list consists of seniors -- all but one of them Division I players -- whom MLS clubs have no Homegrown Player claims to. Players from the next Generation adidas class -- underclassmen -- will also attend the Combine along with other late invitees.

The Combine and SuperDraft (which will follow Jan. 11 at Chicago’s McCormick Place in conjunction with the United Soccer Coaches Convention) remain big events for MLS, though their value has diminished as TAM steers more teams toward foreign players and they concentrate their young signings on Homegrown Player claims.

Just seven players who went through the 2018 Combine and SuperDraft saw action in at least half the games their teams played in 2018:

32 Chris Mueller
, Orlando City (Wisconsin -- No. 6 pick)
24 Brandon Bye, New England (Western Michigan -- No. 8 pick)
24 Ken Krolicki, Montreal (Michigan State -- No. 53 pick)
23 Diego Campos, Chicago (Clemson -- No. 38 pick)
19 Alex Roldan, Seattle (Seattle U -- No. 22 pick)
18 Luis Argudo, Columbus (Wake Forest -- No. 67 pick)
17 Mason Toye, Minn. United Indiana (GA, No. 7 pick)

And of those seven players, only one -- Argudo -- saw action in the 2018 playoffs.

The 2019 combine list includes four players from 2018 national champion Maryland: Sebastian Elney, Chase Gasper, Andrew Samuels and Amar Sejdic. Both Elney (Philadelphia Union) and Sejdic (Real Salt Lake) came out of MLS academies.

Of the 60 players, 23 are foreign residents, reflecting the high numbers of imports at top programs.

Anderson Asiedu UCLA MF Dormaa Ahenkro, Ghana
Luis Barraza Marquette GK Santa Teresa, N.M.
Amir Bashti Stanford FW Cupertino, Calif.
Jakov Basic UMass-Lowell MF Zagreb, Croatia
Tucker Bone Air Force MF Granite Bay, Calif.
Marcello Borges Michigan DF Kearny, N.J.
Sam Brown Harvard MF Ann Arbor, Mich.
Nils Bruening North Carolina FW Hamburg, Germany
Rece Buckmaster Indiana DF Auburn, Ind.
Pat Bunk-Andersen Clemson DF Copenhagen, Denmark
Mamadi Camara Simon Fraser FW Montreal, Quebec
Dylan Castenheira Columbia GK Landing, N.J.
Kyle Coffee Washington FW Syracuse, Utah
Alex Comsia North Carolina DF North Vancouver, BC
Emil Cuello SMU MF Orem, Utah
Geoffrey Dee of Louisville MF Germantown, Tenn.
Hugo Delhomeele Syracuse MF Rennes, France
Hassani Dotson Oregon State MF Federal Way, Wash.
Brad Dunwell Wake Forest MF Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sebastian Elney Maryland FW Boca Raton, Fla.
Simon Enstrom Boston College FW Huddinge, Sweden
Prosper Figbe Virginia DF Ilorin, Nigeria
Chase Gasper Maryland DF Alexandria, Va.
Logan Gdula Wake Forest DF East Lyme, Conn.
Dylan Greenberg Connecticut DF Dix Hills, N.Y.
Jimmy Hague Michigan State GK Walled Lake, Mich.
Jacob Hauser-Ramsey Connecticut DF Seattle, Wash.
Lennart Hein Saint Louis DF Hamburg, Germany
DeJuan Jones Michigan State FW Lansing, Mich.
Shinya Kadono of California FW Irvine, Calif.
Kervin Kenton Fadel Coastal Carolina DF San Jose, Costa Rica
Janos Loebe Fordham FW Kierspe, Germany
Ben Lundt Akron GK Berlin, Germany
Abdu Mbacke Thiam Connecticut FW Dakar, Senegal
Tommy McCabe Notre Dame MF South Orange, N.J.
Brendan McDonough Georgetown DF Matthews, N.C.
Robbie Mertz Michigan MF Pittsburgh, Pa.
Colin Miller Providence College GK Bel Air, Md.
Kamal Miller Syracuse DF Pickering, Ontario
Abdi Mohammed Akron DF Westerville, Ohio
Callum Montgomery Charlotte DF Victoria, BC
Rashid Nuhu Fordham GK Accra, Ghana
Mitchell Osmand Rio Grande DF Sydney, Australia
Santiago Patino FIU FW Orlando, Fla.
Javi Perez Pittsburgh MF Valencia, Spain
Moshe Perez Denver MF Shim'a, Israel
Joey Piatczyc West Virginia MF Lee's Summit, Mo.
James Pyle North Carolina GK Charlotte, N.C.
Camden Riley Pacific MF Dallas, Texas
Sergio Rivas Seattle MF Albuquerque, N.M.
Joel Rydstrand Creighton MF Almunge, Sweden
Andrew Samuels Maryland DF Tampa, Fla.
Amar Sejdic Maryland MF Louisville, Ky.
Andre Shinyashiki Denver FW Sao Paulo, Brazil
Ryan Sierakowski Michigan State FW McHenry, Ill.
Harry Swartz Northeastern FW Needham, Mass.
Don Tchilao Oregon State FW Chandler, Ariz.
Thomas Ueland Notre Dame FW Lexington, Ky.
Wouter Verstraaten Pacific DF Heeze, Netherlands
Akeem Ward Creighton DF Vienna, Va.

1 comment about "MLS releases 2019 Combine list amid changing priorities".
  1. Larry Blake, December 13, 2018 at 10:57 p.m.

    It would be interesting to compare the top salaries of today's MLS players with those in the first two-three years of the leage; and with some European salaries.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications