Dave Van den Bergh calls in 28 players to U.S. U-17 boys camp

Dave Van den Bergh, former U.S. U-19 and U-15 coach, has taken charge of the U-17 boys who aim to qualify for this year's U-17 World Cup.

Van den Bergh, who is replacing Shaun Tsakiris at the U-17 helm, called in 28 players for a Jan. 4-13 training camp in Lakewood Ranch, Florida.

The Florida camp for the U-17s as they prepare for the 2019 Concacaf U-17 Championship is in conjunction with the U.S. U-20 and U-19 national team camps

Tsakiris, who served as interim U-17 head coach after John Hackworth departed last summer, guided the USA to an undefeated run at the 2018 Nike International Friendlies: 1-1 ties with Brazil and Portugal, and a 1-0 win over Turkey.

Acting head coach Van den Bergh coached this generation of players when they were U-15s.

Players born in 2002 or later are eligible for the 2019 U-17 World Cup. Van den Bergh's roster is comprised of 27 players born in 2002 and 2003-born Ricardo Pepi of the FC Dallas academy. The El Paso-born Pepi has dual citizenship and has been courted by the Mexican national team program.

U-17 men’s national team
GOALKEEPERS (4): Aaron Cervantes (Orange County SC; China Hills, Calif.), Damian Las (Chicago Fire academy; Norridge, Ill.), Bryan Dowd (FC United  academy; Willow Springs, Ill.), Chituru Odunze (Vancouver Whitecaps academy; Calgary, Alberta).
DEFENDERS (9): Axel Alejandre (FC United; Chicago, Ill.), Adam Armour (North Carolina FC academy; Cary, N.C.), Tayvon Gray (New York City FC academy; Bronx, N.Y.), Kobe Hernandez (LA Galaxy academy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Mason Judge (Eintracht Frankfurt U17/GER; Tampa, Fla.), Antino Lopez (Shattuck-St. Mary's; Las Vegas, Nev.), Joe Scally (New York City FC; Lake Grove, N.Y.), John Tolkin (NY Red Bulls academy; Chatham, N.J.), Rickson van Hees (NEC Nijmegen O17/NED; Oss, Netherlands).
MIDFIELDERS (9): Gianluca Busio (Sporting KC; Greensboro, N.C.), Maxi Dietz (Freiburg U17/GER; Frankfurt, Germany), Gilbert Fuentes (San Jose Earthquakes; Tracy, Calif.), Cesar Garcia (FC Dallas academy; The Colony, Texas), Jack Imperato (Villarreal Juvenil B/ESP; San Jose, Calif.), Bryang Kayo (D.C. United  academy; Poolesville, Md.), Adam Saldana (LA Galaxy  academy; Panorama City, Calif.), Pablo Soares (Borussia Mönchengladbach U17/GER; Krefeld, Germany), Peter Stroud (West Ham United U-18/ENG; Chester, N.J.).
FORWARDS (6): Jack de Vries (Philadelphia Union  academy; Wayne, Pa.), Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez (Sounders FC II; Kent, Wash.), Ricardo Pepi (North Texas SC; McKinney, Texas), Giovanni Reyna (Unattached; Bedford, N.Y.), Ray Serrano (Sounders FC II; Graham, Wash.), Griffin Yow (D.C. United  academy; Clifton, Va.)

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications